1963年_倉敷市鳥瞰図

1963年_倉敷市鳥瞰図 thumbnail

倉敷市中心市街地の倉敷美観地区周辺には、江戸期の倉屋敷、明治期のレンガ造による紡績工場、鉄筋コンクリート造のモダニズム建築、江戸期の倉屋敷の改修事例など、それぞれの時代の魅力的な建築物が多くあります。倉敷市在住の岡本直樹氏の描いた鳥瞰絵図の上を歩きながら、一緒に倉敷市の魅力を再発見していきましょう。

update date: 2024.04.08

このマップ(地図)を見る

Number of spots : 54spots

  • 喫茶エル・グレコ (旧奨農土地株式会社 本社事務所) /Café El Greco (Former Shono Estate Company Head Office) 喫茶エル・グレコ (旧奨農土地株式会社 本社事務所) /Café El Greco (Former Shono Estate Company Head Office)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    せいそでレトロなきっさ店(せいそ:すっきりと清きよらか、レトロ:古き良よきもの) 清楚でレトロな喫茶店 An Elegant Café with a Vintage Ambience こども おとな English 土地を管理かんりする会社の建物たてものでした。大原美術館おおはらびじゅつかんに来た人が、絵を見た後にほっとして休けいできるきっさ店に変かえました。 みどころ 1. ツタにおおわれているので、室内にやわらかい光がさしこみます。 2. 入口の赤いテントが特徴とくちょうです。内がわにも秘密ひみつの赤いひさしがあります。 3. 木のゆかや、木でできた上げ下げまど、高い天井てんじょうなど昔の良よさが残のこっています。 <奨農土地株式会社しょうのうとちかぶしきがいしゃ 本社事務所ほんしゃじむしょ> 完成かんせいした年:1926年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺主計   <喫茶きっさエル・グレコ> 完成かんせいした年:1959年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷くらしきレイヨン営繕部えいぜんぶ(武藤倫男)   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-11 営業時間:10:00〜17:00 休館日:月曜日 月曜が祝日の場合は水曜日   公式HP:喫茶エル・グレコ 大原家、原家の奨農土地管理会社の事務所を改修した喫茶店です。お茶席の担当だった佐々木浦江は、大原總一郎に声をかけられ、雇われる形ではなく経営させてもらえるなら、と引き受けたそうです。 みどころ Point1. 外壁はツタで覆われ、室内に柔らかい光が差し込みます。赤いテントが印象的で、内側に秘密の赤い庇が続いています。 Point2. 木の床のなつかしい音、木製の上げ下げ窓、高い天井、民芸調の衝立がレトロな雰囲気です。人間国宝・黒田辰秋の作品を写した机とベンチは、了解を得たもので「こちらの方が(材質が)上等ですな」と微笑まれたそうです。 Point3. 扉に大原家の家紋(向かい松)があります(クロワッサンではなく)。「美術館の余韻を楽しむために」といういきさつなど、大原家との深いつながりを感じます。 <奨農土地株式会社 本社事務所> 竣工年:1926年 設計:薬師寺主計   <喫茶エル・グレコ> 竣工年:1959年 設計:倉敷レイヨン営繕部(武藤倫男)   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-11 営業時間:10:00〜17:00 休館日:月曜日 月曜が祝日の場合は水曜日   公式HP:喫茶エル・グレコ The café, though renovated, was once the headquarters of the Ohara and Hara families' Shonotochi management firm. When approached by Soichiro Ohara, Urae Sasaki, who was in charge of organizing tea ceremonies for the Ohara family, only accepted a position in the café if allowed to manage it rather than be hired on. Highlights Feature 1. Ivy blankets the exterior, and soft light shines into the café. The red awning is striking and hides underneath its eaves just as red. Feature 2. The interior has a vintage atmosphere, with wooden floors and the nostalgic sounds of footfalls and creaks, the vertically sliding wooden sash windows, the high ceiling, and folkcraft-style partitions. The desk and bench, reproduced from works by the living national treasure Tatsuaki Kuroda were made with his permission, who purportedly smiled and said, "This [material] is of higher quality." Feature 3. On the door is the Ohara family crest with two pine trees facing each other (No, they are not croissants). By looking upon this crest, visitors enjoying the afterglow of art appreciation at the café museum may feel a deep connection to the Ohara family. Shono Estate Company Head Office, 1926/ Architect, Kazue Yakushiji   Café El Greco, 1959/ Architects, Kurashiki Rayon Facility Management Department (Michio Muto)   Location: 1-1-11 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 17:00 Closed: Mondays *If a national holiday falls on a Monday, the cafe will be close on Wednesday.   URL: Café El Greco

  • 日本郷土玩具館/Japanese toy and Doll Museum 日本郷土玩具館/Japanese toy and Doll Museum

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    米蔵こめぐらの屋根の高さを利用りようした展示室てんじしつ 米蔵の高さを活かした展示室 A Display Room as Tall as a Granary こども おとな English 米蔵こめぐらに全国各地かくちの昔ながらのおもちゃ、約やく1万点がてんじされています。 みどころ 1. 黒く光る床や展示棚てんじだなが古い蔵くらになじみ、色あざやかなおもちゃがきれいです。 2. 通りに面した主屋はお店になっていて、昔ながらのおもちゃが買えます。 3. 小さな中庭には新しいお店やカフェもつくられました。 建たてられた年:江え戸時代     <改修かいしゅう> 完成かんせいした年:1964年   <日本郷土きょうど玩具館がんぐかん> 完成かんせいした年:1967年 設計せっけい:藤木工務店こうむてん(和田精一しょういち)   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-4-16 開館時間:10:00〜17:00 休館日:1月1日のみ   公式HP:日本郷土玩具館 江戸時代の蔵を改修し、1967年に開館しました。全国各地の郷土色豊かな玩具、約1万点が常時展示されています。 みどころ Point1. 黒光りした床やレトロな陳列棚も、古い蔵になじみ、色鮮やかな郷土玩具が映えています。 Point2. 昭和初期、洋風の建材屋に改装されていましたが、倉敷民藝館の外村吉之助の助言もあり、町屋に戻され、1967年に郷土玩具館になりました。観光も倉敷の生活を支えるようになりました。 Point3. 主屋の奥に、道具蔵を改装したギャラリーや、小さな中庭に面した店舗、カフェが新たに設けられ、明るい陽射しに包まれています。少しずつ新しいものが加わりますが、古いものへの心配りが倉敷のまちをつくっています。 建築年:江戸時代     <改修> 竣工年:1964年   <日本郷土玩具館> 竣工年:1967年 設計:藤木工務店(和田精一)   住所:倉敷市中央1-4-16 開館時間:10:00〜17:00 休館日:1月1日のみ   公式HP:日本郷土玩具館 The Japanese Folk Toy Museum was opened in 1967 after renovating an Edo-period storehouse. An estimated 10,000 folk toys from every region of the country are on display at all times. Highlights Feature 1. The gleaming black floor and retro display shelves match the look of the old storehouse, and the colorful folk toys are beautifully on display. Feature 2. Although remodeled into a Western building early in the Showa period, it was returned to its traditional merchant house appearance at the urging of Kichinosuke Tonomura of the Kurashiki Museum of Folkcraft before opening as a local toy store in 1967. Tourism has come to support life in Kurashiki. Feature 3. A gallery that was once a tool storehouse, a shop facing a modest inner courtyard, and a newly built café can be found farther back of the main building, all bathed in sunlight. While the new are introduced little by little to Kurashiki, the city develops around consideration for the old. Original Construction, Edo period   Renovation, 1964   Japanese toy and Doll Museum, 1967/ Architects, Fujiki komuten (Seiichi Wada)   Location: 1-4-16 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 17:00 Closed: 1 January   URL: Japanese toy and Doll Museum

  • 倉敷民藝館/Kurashiki Museum of Fork-craft 倉敷民藝館/Kurashiki Museum of Fork-craft

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    建物たてものも民芸みんげいのように見えてくる 建物も民芸のように見えてくる Even the Buildings Start to Look Like Folkcraft こども おとな English 土かべの米蔵こめぐらを改修かいしゅうして民芸館みんげいかんにしています。美観地区びかんちくの古民家こみんか再生さいせいの第1号です。日本の伝統的でんとうてきな民芸品みんげいひんをてんじしています。 みどころ 1. 外の白いかべには、いろいろな色のかわらがあります。 2. 民芸みんげいは、ふだん使う日用品の中でのうつくしさ大切にしています。 3. 倉敷くらしきで生まれた手仕事の日用品に出会える場所です。 建たてられた年:江戸後期   <倉敷くらしき民藝館みんげいかん> 完成かんせいした年:1948年 設計せっけいした人:外村とのむら吉之介きちのすけ(浦辺うらべ鎮太郎しずたろう     住所:倉敷市中央1-4-11 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで) 休館日:月曜日(月曜が祝日の場合は開館)・年末年始(12/29~1/1)   公式HP:倉敷民藝館 土蔵作りの4棟の米蔵を改修し、1948年に開館しました。美観地区の古民家再生の第1号で、東京に次いで全国で2番目の民芸館です。 みどころ Point1. 白壁に貼り瓦。屋根は和瓦の本葺き。正面から見ると、三角屋根が並ぶ双子のような建物です。中庭の石畳も、外壁の瓦の色合いも、手仕事の民芸にふさわしい佇まいです。 Point2. 民芸は、日常の暮らしの中で使われる、手仕事の日用品の中に「用の美」を見出す考え方を大切にしています。倉敷で生まれた手仕事にも出会える場所です。 Point3. 初代館長、外村吉之介は土間(イス座)と畳敷きを融合し、1階奥に「いろりの部屋」をつくりました。生活に溶け込む工芸品の美を提案しています。 Point4. 1971年、奥の2棟を1棟の鉄筋コンクリート造に建替えました。配慮された外観で、パッと見ただけでは分かりません。 Point5. 2020年、倉敷ガラスや備中和紙など県内の民芸品を紹介する展示が増え、売店も広くなりました。入館しなくても民芸品を購入できます。 建築年:江戸後期   <倉敷民藝館> 竣工年:1948年 設計:外村吉之介(浦辺鎮太郎)   <改修> 竣工年:1971年   <リニューアル> 竣工年:2020年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市中央1-4-11 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで) 休館日:月曜日(月曜が祝日の場合は開館)・年末年始(12/29~1/1)   公式HP:倉敷民藝館 Four earthen-walled rice granaries were renovated and opened in 1948. The first of the Bikan Historical Quarter's old, traditional houses to be renovated, it is also Japan's second folkcraft museum after one in Tokyo. Highlights Feature 1. The white-washed walls have tiling. The roofing is traditional Japanese tile. From the front, the buildings look like twins with matching, triangular roofs. The inner courtyard's stone pavement and the tile colors along the exterior walls present a suitable air for the hands-on artisanship of folkcraft. Feature 2. Folkcraft values the discovery of beauty in the utilitarian objects of everyday life. The museum houses folkcrafts born in Kurashiki awaiting discovery. Feature 3. The first museum director, Kichinosuke Tonomura, combined the areas with earthen floor and tatami mats to create the Irori Room (hearth) in the back of the first floor. The room embodies the beauty of craft that melds into the everyday life. Feature 4. The two buildings in the back were rebuilt into one with reinforced concrete in 1971. The care put into the exterior makes it hard to tell at first glance. Feature 5. The number of exhibitions featuring local folkcraft from Okayama prefecture, such as Kurashiki glass and Bicchu washi, was increased in 2020, and the shop was made bigger. Visitors can now purchase folkcrafts without entering the museum. Original Construction, Late Edo Period   Kurashiki Museum of Fork-craft, 1948/ Architects, Kichinosuke Tonomura, Shizutaro Urabe   Renovation, 1971   Renovation, 2020/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 1-4-11 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30) Closed: Mondays, New Year's holidays (29 December to 1 January) *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday.   URL: Kurashiki Museum of Fork-craft

  • 楠戸家住宅・atelier & salon はしまや/Kusudo House・Atelier & Salon Hashimaya 楠戸家住宅・atelier & salon はしまや/Kusudo House・Atelier & Salon Hashimaya

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    大切に残のこすために、文化財ぶんかざいを使う 大切に残し続けるための文化財活用 Use and Preservation of Cultural Properties こども おとな English 元は呉服ごふく店(きものを売るお店)の町屋でした。重要文化財じゅうようぶんかざいになったのをきっかけに、人が集まって楽しい時間がすごせるように、米蔵こめぐらをカフェにしました。 みどころ 1. 屋根の上に、お店のかんばんとなるあんどんがあります。 2. カフェに行くには細く長い路地を通ります。おくの中庭は緑がきれいで、井戸いどもあります。 3. 米蔵こめぐらの高い天井てんじょうを利用りようして、カフェのキッチンの上に2階がつくられています。 建たてられた年:1887年   <夢空間はしまや> 完成かんせいした年:1997年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷建築工房 楢村ならむら徹とおる設計せっけい室   <atelier & salon はしまや> 完成かんせいした年:2022年   住所:倉敷市東町1-20 開館時間:11:30~16:00(15:30オーダーストップ) 休館日:火曜日(不定休あり)   公式HP:atelier & salon はしまや(楠戸家住宅) 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 明治中期の町屋で、街道に面する主屋に呉服店の土間、奥に蔵や庭があります。1996年に主屋、米蔵など、計5棟が重要文化財に指定されたのを機に、楽しい時間を共有できる場、人が集まれる場にと、米蔵をカフェとギャラリーに改修しました。 みどころ Point1. 主屋「はしまや店舗(楠戸家住宅)」の漆喰を塗りまわした「虫籠窓」や「倉敷格子」「なまこ壁」が美しく、屋根上の行燈が印象的です。 Point2. 主屋横の、石畳と焼杉板壁の細く長い路地を行くと、米蔵カフェに入る中庭があります。緑美しく、井戸も残り、さり気ないおもてなしを感じます。 Point3. カフェのカウンターキッチンの上には2階がつくられています。吹き抜けとなった空間が心地よく、米蔵の高さが活かされています。 建造年:1887年   <夢空間はしまや> 竣工年:1997年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   <atelier & salon はしまや> 竣工年:2022年   住所:倉敷市東町1-20 開館時間:11:30~16:00(15:30オーダーストップ) 休館日:火曜日(不定休あり)   公式HP:atelier & salon はしまや(楠戸家住宅) 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 A mid-Meiji-era merchant house, the main building faces the main street, and houses a kimono shop at the earthen-floored entrance hall and a storehouse and courtyard in the back. In 1996, a total of five buildings--including the main building and rice granary--were designated important cultural properties. This was the catalyst for renovating the granary into a cafe and gallery, where people could enjoy time spent in community with each other. Highlights Feature 1. The plastered window lattices resembling insect cages, the Kurashiki-specific latticework, and the black-slated wall with white Namako grid patterns of the main building of Hashimaya (the Kusudo House) offer a beautiful sight, and the rooftop lanterns leave a lasting impression. Feature 2. Following the stone-paved alley with yakisugi walls (walls of Japanese cedar intensely burned for a preservative effect) besides the main building leads visitors to a courtyard by which to enter the granary-turned-cafe. A subtle hospitality fills the space adorned with beautiful greenery and accompanied by an old, preserved well. Feature 3. A second floor is built above the cafe's kitchen counter. The raised ceiling makes for a comfortable space and makes use of the height of the granary. Original Construction, 1887   Salon Hashimaya, 1997/ Architect, Toru Naramura   atelier & salon Hashimaya, 2022   Location: 1-20 Higashi-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 11:30 - 16:00 (15:30 last order) Closed: Tuesdays   URL: Salon Hashimaya, Cultural property protection Division

  • 倉敷アイビースクエア/Kurashiki Ivy Square 倉敷アイビースクエア/Kurashiki Ivy Square

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    のこぎり屋根とレンガとアーチ のこぎり屋根とレンガとアーチ Bricks, Arches, and a Saw-Toothed Roof こども おとな English のこぎり屋根のレンガ造づくりの工場が、1974年にホテルになりました。当時は工場をホテルにしたことがめずらしく、おしゃれスポットとしてにぎわいました。 みどころ 1. 大きな中庭(スクエア)があり、アイビーという植物のツタが特とくちょうです。 2. 工場のまんなかの屋根をはずし、中庭や水路など外の広場になりました。 3. レンガのかべにアーチ(上が丸い)のまどがよく合っています。 <紡績ぼうせき工場> 紡績ぼうせき工場ができた年:1889年 設計せっけいした人:石河正龍、島田覚人   <倉敷くらしきアイビースクエア> ホテルができた年:1974年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所計うらべけんちくじむしょ     住所:倉敷市本町7-2   公式HP:倉敷アイビースクエア クラボウ創業時(1888年)ののこぎり屋根の紡績工場が、1974年にホテルを中心とした複合文化施設に改修されました。当時は歴史的なレンガ造りの工場の活用が斬新で、おしゃれスポットとしてにぎわい、現在は美観地区を代表する観光スポットになっています。 みどころ Point1. 名前のとおり、大きな中庭(スクエア)があり、室内の温度上昇を抑えるために植えられた外壁のツタ(アイビー)が印象的です。 Point2. 工場中央ののこぎり屋根は大胆に外され中庭や水路になり、屋根を残したところは、そのままの形状で、客室やロビー・レストランとなっています。工場時代の瓦や石は中庭の床仕上げに転用、レストラン入口の窓には吹きガラスを再利用しています。 Point3. 2018年以降、景観のシンボルとなっている創業当時のレンガ壁を外壁に使用しつつ補強した大型宴会場(アイビーエメラルドホール)を新設、客室もリニューアルされました。ロビーにはレンガ職人の彫刻レンガ、客室廊下にはハツリ加工のレンガなど、いろいろな表情のレンガも楽しめます。 Point4. 設計者 浦辺鎮太郎はレンガという材料に向き合ったことで、この建物が、その後の作風の転機になったと言われています。 さらに詳しく  1889年に竣工した倉敷紡績所の工場建築をホテル、レストラン、ホールなどに改修した観光・文化施設である。  倉敷美観地区の東に隣接しており、町家の軒下の道を折れると、煉瓦倉庫の外壁と西門に迎えられる。かたや東門の前は、開けた空間で倉敷市民会館(1972年)に面している。倉敷市民会館の竣工当時、紡績工場は敗戦後から続く長い休止状態にあり、地域住民や市からの要望を受けて倉敷紡績が再開発に着手したとされている[註1]。  一方、さらにその3年前の1969年ごろに浦辺などによって作成された「大原構想」を図化した地図には、紡績工場内に歩行者動線が描かれている[註2]らしく、再開発計画の端緒は定かではないが、市民と建築家の同調があったことに違いはない。長谷川堯はこの建築を「建築史の局面転換を象徴するような建築ではないか」[註3]と評しているが、浦辺の作品を時系列で見る時、建築家自身のターニングポンイントであったことにも気づかされる。 (福濱嘉宏・岡山県立大学教授/倉敷市都市景観審議会委員) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 [註] 1 倉地克直ほか『絵図で歩く倉敷のまち』吉備人出版、2011年 2 草間奏介「倉敷のまちづくりにおける浦辺鎮太郎の角櫓構想」日本建築学会大会学術講演、2012年 3 長谷川堯『建築の出自』彰国社、2008年 <紡績工場> 建築年:1889年 設計:石河正龍、島田覚人   <倉敷アイビースクエア> 竣工年:1974年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   <リニューアル> 竣工年:2018~2020年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市本町7-2   公式HP:倉敷アイビースクエア The spinning factory built with a saw-toothed roof at the time of Kurabo Industries' founding (1888) was renovated in 1974 as a cultural complex with a hotel at its center. The reuse of a historic brick-built factory was quite the novelty at the time, making it a trendy spot that is today a tourist attraction representative of the Bikan Historical Quarter. Highlights Feature 1. As the name implies, there is a large square surrounded by striking ivy-covered walls. They were planted there to lessen the heat accumulated inside the walls. Feature 2. In a bold move, the saw-toothed roof in the center of the factory was removed to make space for the square and waterway. Where the roof remains, it retains its shape and covers guestrooms, the lobby, and the restaurant. Tiles and stones from days the factory was active have been used to pave the square, and the window at the restaurant entrance reuses old blown glass. Feature 3. Guest rooms have been undergoing updates since 2018, and a large banquet hall (Ivy Emerald Hall) was newly built using and reinforcing brick walls standing since the factory's founding. Bricks of every kind may be admired here, like bricks engraved by brickmakers and bricks textured and shaved in the guestroom corridors. Feature 4. Renovating the complex and coming into contact with bricks as a building material supposedly became a turning point in the career of Shizutaro Urabe. More info. This is a tourism and cultural facility created by remodeling a factory building for Kurashiki Spinning Works, which was constructed in 1889, into a hotel, restaurants and banquet halls. It is adjacent to the eastern part of the Kurashiki Bikan Historical Quarter. Turning a corner off of a street lined by the eaves of traditional shop-houses, one encounters the exterior wall and the west gate of the brick warehouse. In front of the east gate on the other side is an open space that faces Kurashiki Civic Center (1972). At the time of the completion of the Civic Center, the spinning factory had been in a long period of inactivity, reaching back to Japan's defeat in World War II. It is reported that Kurabo Industries Ltd., the owners of the factory, began redevelopment in response to requests from local residents and the city around 1972. On the other hand, diagrams of the "Ohara Plan," created by Urabe and others in 1969, three years earlier, appear to show trajectories of pedestrian movement inside the spinning factory. Although it is not clear what initiated the redevelopment plan, it is certain that the citizens and architects had similar ideas. Takashi Hasegawa has praised this piece of architecture as symbolizing "a phase change in the history of architecture." Viewing Urabe's works in chronological order, one can see that this was a turning point for the architect himself as well. (Yoshihiro Hukuhama・Professor, Okayama Prefectural University/Member of Kurashiki City Urban Landscape Council) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 Original Construction, Late Edo Period/ Architects, S.Ishikawa, K. Shimada   Kurashiki Ivy Square, 1974/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Renovation, 2018 - 2020/ Architects, URABESEKKEI     Location: 7-2 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   URL: Kurashiki Ivy Square

  • 倉紡記念館/Kurabo Memorial Hall 倉紡記念館/Kurabo Memorial Hall

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    白かべの「コの字」の倉庫そうこ 木造倉庫とレンガ倉庫のふたご建築 Twins: Wooden and Brick Storehouses こども おとな English 糸を作るための材料ざいりょう倉庫そうこが博物館はくぶつかんになりました。倉敷くらしきで発てんしたぼうせき業のれきしを知ることができます。 みどころ 1. 2つの蔵くらをつないで、コの字の建物たてものになりました。 2. 材料ざいりょうの重さをささえる、ぶあついゆかがあります。 3. 元は木造もくぞうの白かべの倉庫そうこでしたが、となりの愛美あいびーが赤煉瓦館あかれんがかんはレンガの倉庫そうこでした。 建たてられた年:1890・1896年   <倉紡記念館くらぼうきねんかん> 完成かんせいした年:1969年 設計せっけい設計した人:浦辺建築事務所くうらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷市本町7-1 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:年中無休   公式HP:倉紡記念館 参考URL:文化財保護課 クラボウ創業時(1888年)の原綿倉庫(木造)を1969年に博物館に改修、その後一般公開されました。クラボウの歩みを通じて倉敷の発展の歴史をみることができます。 みどころ Point1. 原綿の重さに耐える分厚い床板や、原綿と壁が接触して発生する結露を防ぐための壁の桟、第1展示室の正面にはレンガ造の防火壁があります。 Point2. 左右2棟は別々の建物でしたが、奥に棟続きに増築され、コの字型平面になりました。 建築年:1890・1896年   <倉紡記念館> 竣工年:1969年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市本町7-1 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:年中無休   公式HP:倉紡記念館 参考URL:文化財保護課 The timber structure that was once a cotton wool depot built with the founding of Kurabo Industries (1888) was renovated and turned into a museum in 1969 and opened to the public thereafter. The history of Kurashiki's development can be seen through Kurabo's own path through time. Highlights Feature 1. Notice the thick floorboards made to withstand the weight of raw cotton, the crosspieces that prevented condensation from forming where raw cotton would have pressed against the walls, and the brick firewall in front of Exhibition Room 1. Feature 2. The two buildings flanking Kurabo Memorial Hall were once separate, but additional construction connected them in the back of the facility to form a U-shaped floor plan. Original Construction, 1890, 1896   Kurabo Memorial Hall, 1969/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 7-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:45) Closed: None   URL: Kurabo Memorial Hall, Cultural property protection Division

  • 日本基督教団倉敷教会教会堂/Kurashiki Church 日本基督教団倉敷教会教会堂/Kurashiki Church

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    石積づみの坂道と塔とうのある教会 石積みのスロープと塔が印象的な教会 A Church with Distinctive Masonry on Its Tower and Ramp こども おとな English 東京で文化学院という学校をつくった、西村伊作いさくがつくりました。倉敷くらしきで、理想的りそうてきな社会の話をした時に、林源十郎げんじゅうろうと知り合い、たのまれたそうです。 みどころ 1. 1階に幼稚園ようちえんがあります。2階の教会へは石積づみの坂道を上がって入ります。 2. 教会入口のとびらはステンドグラスで、中に入るとおだやかな気持ちになります。 3. 教会の屋根は急な角度で、内がわから見てもきれいです。 完成かんせいした年: 1923年 設計せっけいした人:西村伊作いさく   住所:倉敷くらしき市鶴形1-5‐15 開館時間:毎週日曜日 朝礼拝・・・10:15~11:30 夕礼拝・・・19:30~20:10   公式HP:日本基督教団倉敷教会 参考URL:文化財保護課 1906年の設立時、仮教会堂は現在の亀遊亭でした。新築移転に際し、現在の教会堂を西村伊作が設計しました。東京で文化学院を設立した西村伊作は、倉敷で「文化生活の実行」という講演をした際に林源十郎と知り合い、理想の実現を語り合ったようです。 みどころ Point1. 塔とスロープの石積(瀬戸内海産の御影石)が印象的です。1階に幼稚園が併設され、2階の礼拝堂はスロープで入れます。礼拝堂入口の扉はアーチ状のステンドグラスに彩られ、おだやかな気持ちを誘います。 Point2. 急勾配の屋根を支える構造体が内部に美しく、後に追加された補強材も西村伊作の意匠に配慮されています。 Point3. 塔と急勾配の屋根、側面に連続する尖頂アーチ窓などが特徴的です。 竣工年: 1923年 設計:西村伊作   住所:倉敷市鶴形1-5‐15 開館時間:毎週日曜日 朝礼拝・・・10:15~11:30 夕礼拝・・・19:30~20:10   公式HP:日本基督教団倉敷教会 参考URL:文化財保護課 When it was founded in 1906, the church was temporarily housed in the building that is today Restaurant Kiyutei. The new building to which the church relocated was designed by Isaku Nishimura. Nishimura, who founded a vocational school known as Bunka Gakuin in Tokyo, is said to have lectured in Kurashiki on "the practice of living a cultured life," whereupon Nishimura met Genjuro Hayashi and spoke on the realization of their ideals. Highlights Feature 1. Notice the impressive masonry of the tower and ramp (featuring granite from the Seto Inland Sea). A kindergarten has been added to the 1st floor, and the 2nd-floor chapel may be accessed by the ramp. At the chapel entrance, arched stained glass doors convey a warm welcome. Feature 2. The structure supporting the sharply angled roof shows beautifully in the building interior, and the reinforcing materials added after the initial construction took Isaku Nishimura's design into consideration. Feature 3. Characteristic features include the tower, sharply angled roof, and the pointed windows lining the sides. 1923/ Architect, Isaku Nishimura   Location: 1-5-15 Tsurugata, Kurashiki Opening Hours: Sundays (Morning worship 10:15 - 11:30, Evening worship 19:30 - 20:10)   URL: Kurashiki Church, Cultural property protection Division

  • 大原美術館 児島虎次郎記念館/Ohara Museum of Art (Kojima Torajiro Memorial Hall) 大原美術館 児島虎次郎記念館/Ohara Museum of Art (Kojima Torajiro Memorial Hall)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    洗練せんれんされた建築けんちくデザイン 洗練された建築様式 A Most Refined Architectural Style こども おとな English 外国の建物たてもののデザインで、今もその時のままです。大原孫三郎まごさぶろうが薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえにたのんでつくりました。大原美術館おおはらびじゅつかんの新施設しせつ「新児島館しんこじまかん」としてリニューアル中です。 みどころ 1. 内がわも外国風のデザインです。銀行として使われていました。 2. 屋根は木で、かべはレンガです。コンクリートも使われて、それぞれのよさが生かされています。 3. 半円形のまどはステンドグラスです。夕方、内がわの光があふれ出てきれいです。 <旧第一合同銀行倉敷支店きゅうだいいちごうどうぎんこうくらしきしてん> 完成かんせいした年: 1922年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえ         <大原美術館児島虎次郎記念館こじまとらじろうきねんかん> 完成かんせい予定年: 2025年   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町3-1 開館時間:閉館中   公式HP:大原美術館 参考URL:文化財保護課 薬師寺主計が大原孫三郎から初めて依頼を受け、設計した建物です。西洋建築の様式を採用し、当時の姿を今も保っています。現在、大原美術館の新施設・新児島館(仮称)としてリニューアル中です。 みどころ Point1. 外観はルネサンス様式の様相で、外壁の柱はドリス式のオーダーを簡略化したものです。 Point2. 屋根は木造、壁の主要な部分は煉瓦造、部分的にコンクリート造を用いた混構造は、鉄筋コンクリート造の基準が確立する以前のもので、構造的にも価値が高いと言われています。 Point3. 窓上部の半円窓には、丸や楕円をあしらったステンドグラスがあります。日が沈み、内部の光がステンドグラスから漏れ出る姿は幻想的で美しさを際立たせています。 <旧第一合同銀行倉敷支店> 竣工年: 1922年 設計:薬師寺主計   <大原美術館 児島虎次郎記念館> 竣工予定年: 2025年   住所:倉敷市本町3-1 開館時間:閉館中   公式HP:大原美術館 参考URL:文化財保護課 The former bank was designed by Kazue Yakushiji at the request of Magosaburo Ohara, marking their first contract. The design adopts a Western style and retains its original appearance. It is currently being renovated as the new Ohara Museum of Art and Shinkojima-kan (tentative name). Highlights Feature 1. The exterior is in a Renaissance style, with the pillars being in a simplified Doric order. Feature 2. TConstructed before the standards were established for reinforce concrete structures, the building is said to be structurally valuable, having mixed construction with a wooden roof, walls made largely of bricks, and concrete here and there. Feature 3. Stained glass with circles and elliptical designs are fixed in the half-circle sections of the radius windows. Light from inside the building slanting through stained glass after sunset adds to a mystical, lovely ambience. <Former Daiichi Godo Bank Kurashiki Branch> 1922/ Architect, Kazue Yakushiji   <Ohara Museum of Art (Kojima Torajiro Memorial Hall)> Scheduled opening 2025   Location: 3-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   URL: Ohara Museum of Art, Cultural property protection Division

  • 吉井旅館 (柳の間)/Yoshii Ryokan 吉井旅館 (柳の間)/Yoshii Ryokan

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    しにせ旅館に吹くさわやかな風(しにせ=古くからつづくお店) 老舗旅館内に吹くさわやかな風 A Refreshing Breeze in a Time-Honored Inn こども おとな English 白かべが美しい江戸時代の町屋を旅館にしています。2階のやなぎの部屋は、たたみだった部屋をつなぎ、イスにすわって食事ができる部屋になりました。 みどころ<柳やなぎの間> 1. かべや、石のようなゆか、新しさと和風の空間が合わさって、心地よいです。 2. 日本らしい赤いべんがら色が、かべや戸に使われ、アクセントになっています。 3. まちには新しさが必要ひつようで、外国の伝統的でんとうてきなものも取り入れています。 建たてられた年: 江戸後期えどこうき   <改修かいしゅう> 完成かんせいした年:1988年 設計せっけい:倉敷建築工房くらしきけんちくこうぼう 楢村徹設計室ならむらとおるせっけいしつ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町1-29   公式HP:吉井旅館よしいりょかん 白壁と倉敷格子が美しい江戸期の町屋を、明治期に旅館にしました。1988年から、営業しながら外観や各部屋を少しずつ改修。2階・柳の間は、使われていなかった畳の和室を2室つなぎ、イスに座って会食できるよう改装しています。 みどころ<柳の間> Point1. 高さのある土壁、石目調の床タイル、窓には倉敷格子。オリエンタルな雰囲気と和の空間があいまって、新しさを感じつつ心地よいお部屋です。 Point2. べんがら色が壁や引き戸などに、紅をさすように使われ、アクセントになっています。 Point3. まちに新しさは必要で、永い年月の中で洗練された伝統的なものは、西洋風・東洋風のものでも、和風の中で十分に調和し、古びて良くなると考え、積極的に取り入れています。 建築年: 江戸後期   <改修> 竣工年:1988年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町1-29   公式HP:吉井旅館 An Edo-period merchant house with stunning whitewashed walls and Kurashiki latticework, transformed into a ryokan (inn) in the Meiji period. Since 1988, its exterior and individual rooms have gradually been updated without disrupting business. The 2nd-story room Yanagi was once two unused traditional Japanese rooms with tatami mats, which were renovated in favor of chairs to create a space for communal dining. Highlights Feature 1. High earthen walls, stone-like tile flooring, and Kurashiki latticework on the windows. The Asian atmosphere intermingles with the Japanese space to create a comfortable yet novel atmosphere. Feature 2. Bengara red is used sparingly to give an accent to the walls and sliding doors, just like applying rouge. Feature 3. The urban requires novelty. Whether Western or Eastern, the traditional have undergone years-long refinement and are harmonized soundly with Japanese sensibilities. Believed to grow better with age, they are actively incorporated into the city. Original Construction, Late Edo Period   Renovation, 1988/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 1-29 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   URL: Yoshii Ryokan

  • 倉敷市立中央図書館/Kurahiki Central Library 倉敷市立中央図書館/Kurahiki Central Library

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    文化ゾーン建築けんちく三兄弟のすえっ子 文化ゾーン建築兄弟の末っ子 Youngest of the Cultural Hub Kids こども おとな English 倉敷くらしき市役所が今の所に移転いてんした時に、市立美術館びじゅつかんと自然史博物館しぜんしはくぶつかんの間に建てられました。 みどころ 1. まどは2まいのガラスの間にブラインドが入って、強い日ざしや熱ねつをさえぎります。 2. となりの自然史博物館しぜんしはくぶつかんと高さをそろえた白壁かべとまどになっています。 3.中は1、2階がつながった吹き抜けで、明るくゆったりしています。 完成かんせいした年:1983年 設計せっけい:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~19:00(月曜日から土曜日)、10:00~18:00(日曜日・祝日) 休館日:第1月曜日を除く月曜日 毎月最終金曜日(8月、12月は開館) 特別整理休館(14日以内) 年末年始(12月29日から1月4日)   公式HP:倉敷くらしき市立中央図書館 市庁舎移転に伴い、市立美術館(旧市庁舎)と自然史博物館(旧水道局庁舎)の間に建てられ、3館で文化ゾーンを形成しています。 みどころ Point1. 整然と並ぶ窓はエルミンサッシです。二重ガラスの間にブラインドが内蔵され、日射の遮蔽性能が高く、ブラインドの埃も防ぐので衛生的です。 Point2. 隣の自然史博物館と高さをそろえた白壁と窓が連続しています。浦辺鎮太郎は市立美術館を大切な建物だと考え、つながる部分ではその外壁を隠さないよう、大きな赤い屋根を低くしています。 Point3. 内部は、大きな屋根で覆われた吹抜け空間を介して、1・2階の閲覧室につながりをもたせつつ、明るくゆったりした空間を構成しています。 竣工年:1983年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~19:00(月曜日から土曜日)、10:00~18:00(日曜日・祝日) 休館日:第1月曜日を除く月曜日 毎月最終金曜日(8月、12月は開館) 特別整理休館(14日以内) 年末年始(12月29日から1月4日)   公式HP:倉敷市立中央図書館 With the relocation of city hall, the Kurashiki Central Library came to stand between the Kurashiki City Art Museum (the former city hall) and the Kurashiki Museum of Natural History (formerly the Kurashiki Bureau of Waterworks). The three facilities together compose the cultural hub. Highlights Feature 1. Perfectly aligned, the elumin sash windows have built-in blinds between the double glazing, not only excelling in providing shade but also hygienic, preventing dust buildup. Feature 2. The library matches the height of its whitewashed walls and windows to the adjacent Museum of Natural History. Considering the City Art Museum an important building, Shizuratro Urabe kept the library's large roof from blocking the art museum's exterior walls by lowering the roof where the two buildings connect. Feature 3. The atrium below the building's massive roof connects the 1st- and 2nd-floor reading rooms and composes a bright and placid atmosphere. 1983/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 2-6-1 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 19:00 (Mondays to Saturdays) 10:00 - 18:00 (Sundays, Holidays) Closed: Mondays (Except the first Monday), Last Friday of every month (Except August, December), New Year's holidays (29 December to 4 January)   URL: Kurashiki Central Library

  • 倉敷市庁舎/Kurashiki City Hall 倉敷市庁舎/Kurashiki City Hall

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    シンボルタワーと市民しみんホールのある市庁舎しちょうしゃ シンボルタワーと市民ホールのある市庁舎 City Hall, a Symbolic Tower, and the Citizens' Hall こども おとな English 倉敷くらしき・児島こじま・玉島たましまの3市がいっしょになったことのシンボルにふさわしい市庁舎しちょうしゃが考えられました。市民しみんが利用りようしやすい建物たてものだと言われています。 みどころ 1. シンボルタワーの4つの角に金と銀の玉があります。日本の神話を取り入れています。 2. 北がわの散歩道さんぽみちは、レンガと並木なみきが美しいので写真スポットになっています。 3. 大切な式典しきてんに使われる市民しみんホールのゆかに、海の幸、山の幸がかかれています。 完成かんせいした年: 1980年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市西中新田640 開館時間:8:30~17:15 休館日:土曜日・日曜日・年末年始   公式HP:倉敷くらしき市 倉敷・児島・玉島の三市合併のシンボルにふさわしい市庁舎が考えられました。駐車場から低層棟、高層棟につながるスムーズな構成、市民が利用しやすい動線計画が評価されています。 みどころ Point1. シンボルタワーの四隅に金と銀の玉があります。干珠を投げると潮が引き平野ができ、満珠を投げると潮が満ち繁栄したと古事記にあり、浦辺鎮太郎が各市共通の伝説として取り入れました。 Point2. 駐車場に沿ったプロムナード(散歩道)は、レンガタイルの連続アーチとクスの並木が美しく、新緑の頃は撮影スポットになっています。 Point3. 市民が自らの力でつくった市庁舎は「誇りと愛情」を持ち、かつ永続すると考え、「共同体の運命を考える厳粛な場」として市民ホールをつくりました。 さらに詳しく  塔が付属する高層棟と広がりのある低層棟を明るいトップライトの空間により無理なく接合し、象徴的な展望塔が市民を迎え入れる構成である。  庁舎の外観と合わせた煉瓦タイル張り・アーチ形状の開口部をもつ駐車場のデザインは、同世代の村野藤吾や白井晟一にも共通する西洋への素朴な憧憬に支えられた日本なりの現代建築のあり方を示しており、牧歌的ではあるが設計者として理想を追求する姿勢が垣間見える。デフォルメされた付け柱や柱頭、そして塔の壁面コーナーの石組みなどは古典建築と近現代建築の間に位置する設計手法であり、ポスト・モダンに通じる記号操作も随所に見られ、アジアの辺境における現代建築の精華といいたい。  1980年当時に竣工した40万人程度の市庁舎、たとえば姫路市役所などと比べるとかなり多様性あふれるデザインだが、公共建築に求められがちな経済性や合理性だけではない、シティホールとしての親和性と倉敷市民の矜持が今も感じられる。 (遠藤秀平・神戸大学教授/遠藤秀平建築研究所) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年: 1980年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市西中新田640 開館時間:8:30~17:15 休館日:土曜日・日曜日・年末年始   公式HP:倉敷市 This facility was conceived as a symbol suitable for the municipal merger of three cities: Kurashiki, Kojima, and Tamashima. The facility's flow planning and its smooth composition that allows visitors to move from the parking lot to the low-rise and high-rise buildings with ease are highly regarded. Highlights Feature 1. Gold and silver orbs sit at the four corners of the symbolic tower. According to Kojiki (Records of Ancient Matters), throwing the pearl known as Kanju into the sea makes the water recede and create an open plain, and throwing the Manju pearl brings in a bountiful tide. Shizutaro Urabe incorporated this legend shared by all three cities into the architecture. Feature 2. The promenade alongside the parking lot features successive brick-tiled arches and camphor trees, a beautiful sight that becomes quite popular with photographers when the trees sprout fresh leaves. Feature 3. As an edifice built by the very citizenry of Kurashiki, the facility is awash with the sense of pride and affection for its city. In the spirit of its continuation, the citizens' hall was built to provide a space for solemn contemplation about the future of the merged communities. More info. The composition of this project is such that a high-rise building to which a tower is attached and a low-rise building which extends horizontally are joined without difficulty by a bright space with skylights, and citizens are welcomed by the symbolic observation tower. The design of the parking lot with the brick tiled, arched openings matching the exterior of the city hall shows the way the Japanese-style contemporary architecture is, which is sustained by a simple yearning for the West common to Togo Murano and Keiichi Shirai from the same generation, and although it is idyllic, it can provide a glimpse into the attitude with which Urabe pursued his ideals as a designer. The deformed pilasters and capitals as well as the cornerstones of the tower, etc. represent a design method situated between the classical architecture and the modern / contemporary architecture, and semantic manipulations related to postmodernism can be seen everywhere, so this can be said to be the essence of contemporary architecture on a periphery of Asia. Compared with the municipal building of Himeji City, for example, this city hall for a population of around 400,000 completed in 1980 has a design full of diversity, and one can still sense the affinity as a city hall and the pride of the citizens of Kurashiki, not just economic efficiency and rationality often required for public buildings. (Endo Shuhei・Professor, Kobe University/Endo Shuhei Architect Institute) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1980/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 640 Nishinaka Shinden, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 8:30 - 17:15 Closed: Saturdays, Sundays, New Year's holidays   URL: Kurashiki City Hall

  • 倉敷駅前再開発事業 東ビル・西ビル/Kurashiki Station Area (East Building & West Building) 倉敷駅前再開発事業 東ビル・西ビル/Kurashiki Station Area (East Building & West Building)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    白かべの東ビルと赤レンガの西ビル 白壁の東ビルと赤レンガの西ビル White-Walled East Building and Red-Brick West Building こども おとな English JR倉敷くらしき駅の前、東ビルと西ビルは、コの字型がたの2階通路でつながっています。車やバスと歩行者が分かれるよう考えられています。 みどころ 1. 東ビルは白いかべ、西ビルは赤いレンガで、アーチの形があります。 2. アーチもまども高いところの方が小さいのは、建物たてものが大きく見えすぎない工夫くふうです。 3. 駅・市立美術館びじゅつかん・市民会館しみんかいかん・倉敷中央病院を結むすぶと1Kmの正方形になります。 完成かんせいした年: 1980年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市阿知1-7-1 営業えいぎょう時間:10:00~19:00 東ビル(天満屋てんまや倉敷店くらしきてん) 定休日:年中無休   JR倉敷駅の南口、東ビルと西ビルは地下通路とコの字型にとりまくペデストリアンデッキ(2階の歩行者通路)でつながっています。 みどころ Point1. 東ビルは白い吹付け、西ビルは赤い打ち込みレンガで、外観をあえて違えていますが、1階の煉瓦アーチのアーケードにより全体的に調和させています。 Point2. 東ビルの半円アーチは上階ほど小さく、西ビルは上部の窓が小さく、建物が大きく見えすぎないよう工夫しています。 Point3. 浦辺鎮太郎は、倉敷駅・市立美術館(旧市庁舎)・倉敷市民会館・倉敷中央病院の4つを角櫓に例えました。四方櫓とも言い、鶴形山を天守閣に見立て、この1km四方の町並みを守りたいと考えていました。 さらに詳しく  JR倉敷駅に隣接し、駅前広場を挟んで向かい合うように配置されている。百貨店を核とする東ビルと、銀行やホテルが入居する事務所ビル兼立体駐車場の西ビルは、ペデストリアンデッキを介して2階部分の動線をつなぐことで、駅を中心とした“まちの玄関口”として一体的に整備された。  東ビルの外観は白を基調とした吹付けタイル仕上げと縦軸回転窓を採用しているのに対し、西ビルは赤を基調とした打ち込みタイル仕上げとエルミンサッシュ(横軸回転二重窓)を採用している。一見すると異なる印象をもつものの、ペデストリアンデッキの1階部分に連続する煉瓦張りアーチのアーケードによって、全体の調和がもたらされている。「倉敷を日本のローテンブルクにしよう」という大原總一郎の夢に端を発し1970年から始まった度重なる調査を経て、1980年に完成を迎えた。浦辺が描いた「大原構想」である鶴形山を中心に据えた約1 km四方の“四方隅櫓”の一角を担っている。 (八坂真希子・浦辺設計) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年: 1980年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市阿知1-7-1 営業時間:10:00~19:00 東ビル(天満屋倉敷店) 定休日:年中無休   Kurashiki Station's south exit, east building, and west building are connected by the underground passage via a U-shaped pedestrian deck on the 2nd floor. Highlights Feature 1. The east building is spray-painted white, and the west building's exterior is of red brick masonry. Although the exterior of the buildings are intentionally made different, the brick arcade on the 1st floor harmonizes their contrasting features. Feature 2. Neither building looks too massive, as the semi-circular arches on the east building are kept as low as the top of the floor, and the windows on the west building are made small. Feature 3. Shizutaro Urabe likened Kurashiki Station, the City Art Museum (formerly city hall), Kurashiki City Auditorium, and Kurashiki Central Hospital to corner towers of a fortress. Also called the four turrets, they were in Urabe's mind the protectors of this square kilometer of Kurashiki's townscape, with the peak of Tsurugata-yama serving as a castle tower. More info. Adjacent to JR Kurashiki Station, these buildings are located facing each other across the station plaza. The East Building, which is primarily a department store, and the West Building, which is an office building / multi-story parking complex with a bank, a hotel, etc. as its tenants, were integrally developed as the town's gateway centered on the station with a pedestrian deck connecting the traffic line on the second-floor level. For the East Building a white-based spray-on mortar finish and vertical pivot windows were adopted, while for the West Building, a red-based tile finish, which was cast with concrete, and "Elmin" windows (double-glazed horizontal pivot windows) were adopted. Although they give seemingly different impressions, the arched brick arcade that runs on the ground level of the pedestrian deck creates overall harmony. Started with Soichiro Ohara's dream, "Let Kurashiki be the Rothenburg of Japan," these projects were completed in 1980, after a series of surveys that began in 1970. They play the role of one of the "four-corner towers" defining the approximately 1km square area centering on Mt. Tsurugata, which constitutes the "Ohara Vision" delineated by Urabe. (Makiko Yasaka・URABESEKKEI) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1980/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 1-7-1 Achi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 19:00 (East Building Tenmaya-Kurashiki) Closed: None  

  • 倉敷市民会館/Kurashiki City Auditorium 倉敷市民会館/Kurashiki City Auditorium

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    鶴形山つるがたやまのふもとのツルとカメ 鶴形山のふもとのツルとカメ The Turtle and Crane at the Base of Tsurugata-yama こども おとな English 岡山県おかやまけんでも最大級さいだいきゅう、2000席せきの音楽ホールです。屋根をななめにして高さをおさえ、美観地区びかんちくの景観けいかんを守りながら大きな建物たてものをつくることに挑戦ちょうせんしています。 みどころ 1. 鳥のイメージでつくったが、実際じっさいには亀かめのようになったそうです。 2. 外のかべにでこぼこの模様もようがあります。倉敷くらしきのまどのイメージです。 3. 音楽ホールは、音の響ひびきが音楽にふさわく、高く評価ひょうかされています。 完成かんせいした年: 1972年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   <リニューアル> 完成かんせいした年: 2009年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町17-1 開館時間:9:00~22:00 休館日:水曜日・年末年始・保守点検ほしゅてんけん日等   公式HP:倉敷市民会館   県内最大級の2000席の音楽ホールです。美観地区の景観を守りながら大きな建物をつくることが課題でした。舞台上部のフライタワーに傾斜をつけて高さを抑え、町並みとの調和を目指しています。 みどころ Point1. 「鶴の舞い遊ぶ館」というイメージで設計したが、亀のようになったと浦辺鎮太郎は言っています。鶴にちなんだ鶴形山も、昔は内亀島と呼ばれたそうです。 Point2. 凹凸のある外壁部分は、倉敷格子をイメージしたプレコン(工場で制作したコンクリート板)です。建物の大きさに合わせた大胆な陰影です。 Point3. 音楽ホールの形状や内装は、音の響きを左右し、ホール自体が楽器の一部とも言われます。残響時間など、クラシック音楽にふさわしい音響環境が高く評価されています。 さらに詳しく  1972年に約2,000席の大規模多目的ホールとして竣工し、半世紀近く経つ今も倉敷市民に愛され続けている。  当時としては舞台の奥行きや幅はともに広く、フライタワーは高く(ただし、舞台の奥側に傾斜をつけ外観ボリュームを抑制)、残響時間や1席当たりの室容積のスペックも高い。コンサートに軸足を置きながらも、演劇やほかの機能にも対応できる点が、長く使われてきた理由であろう。  近年、公共ホールはコンサートや演劇などの演目に応じた複数の客席数が違うホールを併設するケースが多いが、後に浦辺亡きあとの浦辺設計による倉敷芸文館(1993年、約900席の中規模ホールと約200席の小規模ホールを併設)や倉敷アイビースクエア(1974年)内のエメラルドホール(2018年、立食時で最大1,000人収容の平土間宴会場)を徒歩圏内に整備することにつながり、利用者ニーズに応じた使い分けが実現した点は、倉敷全体の将来を見据え、日本のデュドックをめざした浦辺の高い見識といえる。 (平山文則・岡山理科大学教授) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年: 1972年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   <リニューアル> 竣工年: 2009年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市本町17-1 開館時間:9:00~22:00 休館日:水曜日・年末年始・保守点検日等   公式HP:倉敷市民会館 At 2,000 seats, the Kurashiki City Auditorium is the prefecture's largest. It was a challenge to build such a large structure while preserving the townscape of the Bikan Historical Quarter. The tower above the stage shows sloped angles to visually reduce its height and blend in with its surroundings. Highlights Feature 1. Although designed to evoke the image of a dancing crane, Shizutaro Urabe claimed the building instead took on the shape of a turtle. Similarly, Mount Tsurugata-yama, though named after a crane (tsuru), it was long ago called Uchigame-jima (kame and game meaning turtle). Feature 2. The uneven exterior walls are made of precast concrete (factory-made concrete panels) emulating Kurashiki latticework. Its bold contours and shadows match the enormity of the building. Feature 3. The shape and interior finishes of an auditorium determine its sound, and an auditorium is said to be part of the instruments playing inside it. This auditorium’s reverberation time and acoustics are highly regarded, a space suitable for classical music. More info. Completed as a large-scale multi-purpose hall with about 2,000 seats in 1972, nearly half a century has passed, and it is still dear to the citizens of Kurashiki. By the standard of the time back then, the stage has a great depth and width, the fly tower was high (but the back side of the stage was inclined to restrain the volume seen from outside), and the specifications for the reverberation time and the room volume per seat were also high. It is presumably the reason it has been used for a long time that it can be used for plays and other functions while its priority has been concerts. In recent years, public auditoriums often have multiple halls with different numbers of seats according to the type of performances such as concert, plays, etc. , but this auditorium later led to the development of the Kurashiki Art and Culture Hall (1993, having both a medium-size hall with approximately 900 seats and a small-size hall with approximately 200 seats) and the Emerald Hall (2018, a flat floor banquet room with a maximum capacity of 1,000 people at the time of a standing buffet party) at Kurashiki Ivy Square (1974), which were designed by URABESEKKEI Co., Ltd. after Urabe's death within walking distance from the Kurashiki City Auditorium, and it can be said that the realization of use according to the needs of users is a high-level insight attributed to Urabe who foresaw the future of overall Kurashiki in his attempt to become the Dudok of Kurashiki. (Fuminori Hirayama・Professor, Okayama University of Science) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1972/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Repair, 2009/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 17-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 22:00 Closed: Wednesdays, New Year's holidays   URL: Kurashiki Civic Hall

  • 大原美術館 本館/Ohara Museum of Art 大原美術館 本館/Ohara Museum of Art

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本でさいしょの西洋近代美術館びじゅつかん 日本で最初の西洋近代美術館 Japan's first Museum of Modern Western Art こども おとな English 画家・児島こじま虎次郎とらじろうはヨーロッパでみごとな西洋美術びじゅつに出会い、日本で見られるように、作品を集めました。大原孫三郎まごさぶろうは作品をてんじするために、大原美術館びじゅつかんをつくりました。 みどころ 1. ヨーロッパの神でん風の建物たてものですが、倉敷くらしきの古い町屋に調和しています。 2. 正面の2本の柱を見上げると、くるくるとした形があります。 3. 外のかべは石みたいですが、コンクリートです。ざらざらとした仕上げです。 完成かんせいした年:1930年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえ   <後から増築ぞうちくした部分> 完成かんせいした年:1991年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺設計うらべせっけい   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※2月16日まで、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長えんちょうする場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日しゅくじつ、振替ふりかえ休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 参考さんこうHP:ティーチャーズガイド 画家・児島虎次郎はヨーロッパ留学中に西洋美術に触れ、日本でも見られるようにとの思いから、大原孫三郎の支援で作品を集めました。大原孫三郎はその作品と児島虎次郎自身が描いた作品を公開するために、薬師寺主計に設計を依頼しました。 みどころ Point1. 神殿風の外観は、町屋とは全く違いますが、倉敷の町並みと見事に調和し、いまや欠かせません。 Point2. 正面の円柱は、上部にくるくるとした渦があり、イオニア式と呼ばれます。ヨーロッパの建築から学んだ薬師寺主計は、西洋の伝統的を建築様式を採用しました。単純な形ですが、大胆な構成でのバランスの良さが見事です。 Point3. こども向けの企画、ギャラリーコンサートや美術講座など、教育や社会貢献にも積極的です。 Point4. 1991年、展示棟と事務棟を増築。不足していた展示スペースを補うだけでなく、1、2階をガラスのアトリウムで豊かにつなぐなど、動線を改善しました。 竣工年:1930年 設計:薬師寺主計   <増築部分> 竣工年:1991年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※2月16日まで、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長する場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日、振替休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 参考HP:ティーチャーズガイド Painter Torajiro Kojima admired Western art while studying art in Europe, and hoping to admire them back in Japan as well, he collected pieces with the support of Magosaburo Ohara. Magosaburo Ohara requested Kazue Yakushiji design a building in which to display the pieces Torajiro Kojima brought back from Europe as well as those painted by Kojima himself. Highlights Feature 1. The Greek temple-like exterior is worlds apart from merchant houses, and yet it is now a critical part of the Kurashiki streetscape it was made to blend in with. Feature 2. The round columns in front that swirl at the top are called Ionic columns. Coming from the European discipline, Kazue Yakushiji adopted a traditional Western architectural style. The shape is simple but its bold composition makes for an incredibly well balanced building. Feature 3. The museum is active in education and contributing to the community, with projects aimed at children, concerts, and art lectures. Feature 4. In 1991, the museum was expanded with an exhibition building and office building. Rather than simply making up for the lack of space, the expansion improved visitor circulation and installed a glass atrium to resplendently connect the first and second floors. 1930/ Architect, Kazue Yakushiji   Extension, 1991/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 1-1-15 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry:16:30) *Closed until February 16th*In addition to the above, the museum may be specially Extended opening hours. Closed: Mondays, 28 December to 31 December *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday.   URL: Ohara Museum of Art

  • 有隣荘/Yurin-so Villa 有隣荘/Yurin-so Villa

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    屋根のかわらが緑色やオレンジ色の家 緑やオレンジ瓦の住宅 A Home Tiled Orange and Green こども おとな English 大原孫三郎まごさぶろうが病弱だった妻つまを気づかい「落ち着いた住まいをつくろう」と建たてた家です。和風・洋風・中国風のよいところが一体となり、見ごたえがあります。 みどころ 1. 屋根のかわらが、緑色やオレンジ色など、あざやかな色になっています。 2. 洋風、和風の部屋があり、優雅ゆうがな洋風のリビングに植物を育てる温室があります。 3. 和風部分の屋根の上に、妖怪ようかいのような動物の焼やき物が4つあります。 完成かんせいした年:1928年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえ、(和風部分)伊藤いとう忠太ちゅうた   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-3-18 開館時間:外観がいかんのみ見学自由/年に2回特別とくべつ公開を実施じっし   公式HP:大原美術館 大原孫三郎が病弱な妻を気遣い「落ち着いた住まいを」と建てた別邸です。設計した薬師寺主計は、和風部分は伊東忠太に、欄間の龍などは児島虎次郎に、庭は七・八代目小川治兵衛に頼みました。和・洋・中の良いところが一体となり、見ごたえがあります。昭和天皇が宿泊されるなど来賓館として使用された後、今は春と秋に内部公開されています。 みどころ Point1. 緑やオレンジの艶やかな瓦は特殊な釉薬です。中国の孔子廟の影響を受け、泉州堺の瓦職人に特注したものです。 Point2. 洋風、和風が雁行配置されています。優雅な洋間には植物を育てる温室が併設され、和室のガラス引戸は全面開け放して、ゆっくりとお庭を楽しめます。 Point3. 和風部分の屋根には、四隅に伊東忠太のデザインと思われる奇妙な動物の焼き物があります。玄関先にも奇妙な動物がいて、伊東忠太の妖怪への思いが感じられます。 竣工年:1928年 設計:薬師寺主計、(和風部分)伊藤忠太   住所:倉敷市中央1-3-18 開館時間:外観のみ見学自由/年に2回特別公開を実施   公式HP:大原美術館 Yurinso is a villa Magosaburo Ohara had built out of concern for his ailing wife. Heading the design was Yakushiji, who in turn assigned the traditional Japanese sections to Chuta Ito, the dragons on the wooden crosspieces between rooms (known as ranma) to Torajiro Kojima, and the garden to the seventh- and eighth-generation gardeners Jihei Ogawa. The impressive villa is composed of the best parts of Japanese, Western, and Chinese architecture. Once used as a guesthouse that welcomed the likes of the Emperor Showa, it is today open to the public in spring and fall. Highlights Feature 1. A special glaze coats the gleaming orange and green roof tiles. Application of the glaze was influenced by the Temple of Confucius in Qufu, China, and specially procured by a tile mason in Sakai, Senshu (Osaka). Feature 2. Western and Japanese-style rooms are arranged in a staggered manner (like a flock of flying geese). Attached to the refined Western-style room is a greenhouse for cultivating plants, and in the Japanese room visitors may slide the glass doors fully open to bask and enjoy the garden. Feature 3. Strange clay animals thought to be designed by Chuta Ito can be found on the four corners of the Japanese roof. More strange animals await around the entrance, reminding visitors of Chuta Ito's affection for yokai (monsters from Japanese folklore). 1928/ Architects, Kazue Yakushiji (The design of Japanese style room is Chuta Ito)   Location: 1-3-18 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: Special tour twice a year   URL: Ohara Museum of Art

  • 森田酒造・平翠軒/Morita Brewery ・Heisui-ken 森田酒造・平翠軒/Morita Brewery ・Heisui-ken

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    本町通りのかんばん建築けんちく 本町通りの看板建築 (おいしいもののおもちゃ箱) Billboard Architecture on Honmachi-dori (Toy Chest of Goodies) こども おとな English およそ100年前に、お酒づくりの工場だった建物たてものを、木の柱などを残のこしてお店にしています。 みどころ 1. 屋根の形と関係かんけいなく、通りに面したお店のかべをつくっています。かんばん建築けんちくと言います。 2. 外のかべにレンガがはられました。かべを守るためですが、うまくなじんでいます。 3. 2階のまどから、木々の緑と、屋根かわらの倉敷くらしきらしい景色けしきが広がります。 建たてられた年:明治・大正   <平翠軒へいすいけん> 完成かんせいした年:1990年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町8-8 営業時間:10:00~18:00 定休日:日曜日、祝日(森田酒造)/ 月曜日午前中(平翠軒)   公式HP:森田酒造、平翠軒 大正時代に森田酒造のお酒の瓶詰め工場として利用されていた倉庫の柱・梁を残して、店舗に改修しています。 みどころ Point1. 看板建築(正面だけをモルタルやタイルなどで覆い装飾した町屋)と言われる外観は、昔のままですが、内部には全国のおいしものがたくさん並ぶにぎやかな空間が広がります。 Point2. 足元のレンガは改修時のものです。外壁の保護のためですが、洋風の材料も馴染んでいます。店内の黒い床材はアスファルトブロックという材料で、使わるほどに磨き込まれる床材です。 Point3. 平翠軒の名前の由来は、森田家に古くから伝わる茶室です。翠は、翡翠の翠。かわせみの羽の色です。2階の喫茶からは木々の緑と屋根瓦の昔ながらの倉敷らしい景色が広がります。 建築年:明治・大正   <平翠軒> 竣工年:1990年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町8-8 営業時間:10:00~18:00 定休日:日曜日、祝日(森田酒造)/ 月曜日午前中(平翠軒)   公式HP:森田酒造、平翠軒 The storehouse once used as a bottling facility for the sake brewery Morita Shuzo in the Taisho period is being renovated into a storefront, with its original columns and beams intact. Highlights Feature 1. With an unchanged exterior in a style called kanban kenchiku (or billboard architecture, where only the facade is plastered over and tiled), the building interior is a lively space lined with delectable foods from all over the country. Feature 2. The bricks laid underfoot are from the renovation. Although intended to protect the exterior wall, the renovation includes the use of Western-style materials. The store's black flooring is called asphalt block, and it develops more polish with use. Feature 3. The origin of the name Heisuiken has to do with the tea room passed down from the generations of yore in the Morita family. The sui in Heisuiken is the same sui in hisui, or jade. This is the color of a kingfisher's wings. From the coffee shop on the second floor, visitors can enjoy classic Kurashiki scenery of roof tiles and green treetops. Original Construction, Meiji-Taisho Period   Heisui-ken, 1990/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 8-8 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 18:00 Closed: Sundays, Holidays(Morita Brewery) / Monday morning (Heisui-ken)   URL: Morita Brewery, Heisui-ken

  • 倉敷市立美術館 (旧倉敷市庁舎) /Kurashiki City Art Museum (Former City Hall) 倉敷市立美術館 (旧倉敷市庁舎) /Kurashiki City Art Museum (Former City Hall)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    つみ木のようにコンクリートを重ねています 鉄筋コンクリートの校倉造り A Reinforced Concrete Log House こども おとな English 日本を代表する建築家けんちくか・丹下健三けんぞうがつくりました。大原総一郎そういちろうは「古い倉敷くらしきの民家みんかになじむのではなく、新しい時代に合うものをつくってほしい」と望のぞんだそうです。 みどころ 1. 建物たてものを外から見るとコンクリートを積つみ木のように重ねた形をしています。 2. 玄関げんかんロビーに彫刻ちょうこくのようなかべのでこぼこがあり、力強さにあふれています。 3. 玄関げんかんロビーの床ゆかは3色のコンクリートの板です。温かみがあります。 <旧倉敷市庁舎きゅうくらしきしちょうしゃ> 完成かんせいした年:1960年 設計せっけいした人:丹下たんげ健三けんぞう   <倉敷市立美術館くらしきしりつびじゅつかん> 完成かんせいした年:1983年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~17:15(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)年末年始※祝日・振替ふりかえ休日は開館   公式HP:倉敷市立美術館くらしきしりつびじゅつかん    日本を代表する建築家・丹下健三の設計。大原総一郎は「古い倉敷の民家群に従わないで、これらを新しい方向に導いていくようなものを」と望んだそうです。1983年に浦辺鎮太郎により美術館に改修され、中央図書館、自然史博物館と共に、文化ゾーンを形成しています。 みどころ Point1. 外観はプレコンを積み木のように重ねた校倉造り風です。ロビー吹抜けは大きな梁、彫刻のような壁の陰影、コンクリートの重量感が相まって力強さに満ちています。 Point2. 丹下健三は都市的な視点で建築のあり方を追求しました。市民広場(駐車場)、市民ホール(ロビー)、議場(講堂)、屋上庭園(閉鎖)を新しい都市の中心軸に沿って連続させています。 Point3. 1階床は3色のプレコンブロックです。平滑な床にせず、プレコンを敷いたことで温かみを感じます。 <旧倉敷市庁舎> 竣工年:1960年 設計:丹下健三   <倉敷市立美術館> 竣工年:1983年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~17:15(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)年末年始※祝日・振替休日は開館   公式HP:倉敷市立美術館 Former Kurashiki City Hall was designed by one of Japan's preeminent architects, Kenzo Tange. Soichiro Ohara supposedly wanted "something that, rather than conforming to Kurashiki's cluster of old private residences, led them all in a new direction." In 1983 under the guidance of Shizutaro Urabe, the building was converted into an art museum that, together with the Kurashiki Chuo Library and the Kurashiki Museum of Natural History, forms a cultural hub. Highlights Feature 1. The exterior looks like stacks of building blocks of precast concrete, evocative of a log house and an architectural style called azekura-zukuri. The large beams, the heft of concrete, and the shadows along the walls formed as if from sculptures combine to fill the lobby's atrium with a sense of solidity. Feature 2. Kenzo Tange pursued an architectural ideal from an urban perspective. The design casts the public square (the parking lot), civic hall (lobby), assembly chamber (lecture hall), and rooftop garden (closed) as the central axis of a new kind of city. Feature 3. Precast concrete in three colors can be seen underfoot on the 1st floor. Laying precast concrete rather than smooth flooring conveys a sense of warmth. Former City Hall, 1960/ Architect, Kenzo Tange   City Art Museum, 1983/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 2-6-1 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:15 (Last Entry: 16:45) Closed: Mondays, New Year's holidays *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be close on Tuesday.   URL: Kurashiki City Art Museum

  • 倉敷考古館/Kurashiki Archaeological Museum 倉敷考古館/Kurashiki Archaeological Museum

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    新旧しんきゅう調和ちょうわが光るばつぐんのデザインセンス 新旧調和の抜群のデザインセンス Exquisite Design Sensibilities to Unify the Old and New こども おとな English 手前の古い土蔵どぞうをしゅうりし、おくに3階建だての新しい建物たてものをつくりました。新しい建物たてものはよく見ると古い土蔵どぞうとちがっていて、倉敷くらしきの町に新しさを取りいれています。 みどころ 1. よこのかべは3種類しゅるい。同じじゃなくてもなじんでいます。 2. 新しい建物たてものは、一番上の天井てんじょうが曲がり、屋根との間にすきまがあります。 3. まんなかの階だんは、元々もともとはかべがなく、倉敷くらしきの町なみが見えました。 建たてられた年:1893年   <倉敷考古館くらしきこうこかん> 完成かんせいした年:1950年 設計せっけいした人:外村とのむら吉之介きちのすけ   <増築ぞうちく> 完成かんせいした年:1957年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷くらしきレイヨン営繕部えいぜんぶ(浦辺うらべ鎮太郎しずたろう)   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-3-13 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで) 休館日:月曜日・火曜日・年末年始 : 12月27日 - 1月2日 ※祝日しゅくじつ・振替ふりかえ休日は開館※臨時りんじ休館あり   公式HP:倉敷考古館くらしきこうこかん 1950年に江戸後期の土蔵を改修し、1957年に鉄筋コンクリート造3階建ての新館を増築。旧館は倉敷民藝館の外村吉之助、新館は企業の営繕技師であった浦辺鎮太郎の設計、抜群の一体感です。旧館との連続性から、古いものを模倣する方法も考えられますが、浦辺鎮太郎はあえて新しいものに挑戦しています。 みどころ Point1. 東側の外壁は、なまこ壁、貼り瓦壁、コンクリートの白壁の3種類。 Point2. 旧館は木造軸組みで本瓦葺、新館はアーチ状に曲げた薄いコンクリート屋根(=シェル構造)にスパニッシュ瓦葺きの置き屋根です。最上階の天井で違いが分かります。 Point3. 新旧をつなぐ階段は、当初は外部階段で、広がる倉敷の町並みを眺めることができました。 さらに詳しく  戦後浦辺が倉敷レーヨンの営繕部長に就いて8年目、独立前の仕事である倉敷考古館増築は、倉敷川の河畔に建つ江戸時代末期の米蔵を外村吉之助(1898~1993年)が1950年に改修し、その後浦辺が博物館にすべく増築したものである。独立前の増築という仕事ではあるが、浦辺のアーキテクトとしての出発点があるように思う。  木造、なまこ壁と本瓦葺きの旧米蔵に対し、鉄筋コンクリートのシェル構造の天井にスパニッシュ瓦葺きの置き屋根で構成された増築部のデザインには、浦辺のデザイナーとしてのセンスと、保存再生への理念が確実に見て取れる。それは既存の環境を咀嚼しつつ、決して模倣に陥らない建築作品を創り上げるという、アーキテクトとしての矜持であろうか。  4年後の大原美術館分館(1961年)から、近代建築における保存再生デザインの嚆矢となった17年後の倉敷アイビースクエア(1974年)へとつながる、浦辺のデザイン理念は、この仕事からすべてが始まったように思える。 (田原幸夫・京都工芸繊維大学客員教授/日本イコモス国内委員会理事) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 建築年:1893年   <倉敷考古館> 竣工年:1950年 設計:外村吉之介   <増築> 竣工年:1957年 設計:倉敷レイヨン営繕部(浦辺鎮太郎)   住所:倉敷市中央1-3-13 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで) 休館日:月曜日・火曜日・年末年始 : 12月27日 - 1月2日 ※祝日・振替休日は開館※臨時休館あり   公式HP:倉敷考古館 A late Edo-period storehouse was renovated in 1950, and a new three-story reinforced concrete building was added in 1957. The old museum was designed by Kichinosuke Tonomura of Kurashiki Museum of Folkcraft, and the new one by corporate facilities engineer Shizutaro Urabe, resulting in a splendidly unified look. For the sake of creating harmony, Shizutaro Urabe could have merely imitated the old museum but instead dared to take on something new. Highlights Feature 1. The eastern exterior walls show three styles: white grid-patterned wall known as namako-kabe, tiling, and whitewashed concrete. Feature 2. The old building is wood-framed with clay roof tiling, while the new building's arched, thin concrete roof (a shell structure) is covered in Spanish roof tiles and balanced on the structure rather than fixed to it. The difference is clear from the ceilings of the respective top floors. Feature 3. The stairs between the old and new buildings were originally situated outside, and from them visitors could admire the Kurashiki townscape fanning outward. More info. After the war, when eight years had passed since Urabe was named the manager of Kurashiki Rayon's facility management department and before starting an independent practice, he worked on the extension of the Kurashiki Archaeological Museum, the former rice warehouse built by the Kurashiki river in the late Edo period which Kichinosuke Tonomura (18981993) had renovated in 1950 to be converted later by Urabe into a museum. It was an addition to an existing building, but I think that Urabe's starting point as an architect can be seen in it. Urabe's sensibility as a designer and his philosophy for preservation and renewal are evident in the design of the ceiling of reinforced concrete shell structure and the double-skin roof covered with Spanish tiles, which contrast with the wooden structure, the Namako walls, and the traditional clay tile roof of the old rice warehouse. Does this represent his pride as an architect who is supposed to create work of architecture that never falls into imitation, while appreciating the existing environment? Urabe's design philosophy, which led to the Ohara Museum of Art Annex (1961) 4 years later and to Kurashiki Ivy Square (1974) 17 years later, which pioneered the design for preservation and renewal in modern architecture, all seems to have started in this work. (Yukio Tahara・Visiting Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology/ICOMOS Japan) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 Original Construction, Late Edo Period   Kurashiki Archaeological Museum, 1950/ Architect, Kichinosuke Tonomura   Extension, 1957/ Architects, Kurashiki Rayon Facility Management Department (Shizutaro Urabe)   Location: 1-3-13 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30) Closed: Mondays, Tuesdays, New Year's holidays (27 December to 2 January) *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday. *In addition to the above, the museum may be specially closed.   URL: Kurashiki Archaeological Museum

  • 井上家住宅/Inoue House 井上家住宅/Inoue House

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    300年たっても光る、大工さんのわざと工夫くふう 300年を経て今も残る職人の技と工夫 Dismantling and Repairing 300 Years of History こども おとな English 美観地区びかんちくの中でもっとも古い町屋です。国の重要文化財じゅうようぶんかざいに指定されています。2022年に保存ほぞん工事が終わり、見学できるようになりました。 みどころ 1. 2階のまどに土つちとびらがついています。火事の時にしめてふせぎます。 2. うら側がわにある土の蔵くらは三階だてです。美観地区びかんちくの中でここだけです。 3. 1階まどのふくざつな仕かけなど、大工さんのわざと工夫くふうがたくさんあります。 建たてられた年:1721年   <保存修理> 完成かんせいした年:2022年   住所:倉敷市本町1-40 開館時間:10:00 ~ 17:00( 最終受付 16:30 ) 休館日:月曜日・年末年始 ( 12/28~1/4 )   公式HP:井上家住宅 いのうえけじゅうたく 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 美観地区最古の町屋で300年を経ています。主屋、三階蔵、井戸蔵、東西土塀の計5棟が重要文化財です。2022年に保存修理が完了し、内部も公開されています。 みどころ Point1. 旧街道の本町通りに面する2階の7つの倉敷窓には、防火用の漆喰仕上げの土扉が付いています。土扉が現存するのは、美観地区の町屋では井上家住宅だけです。 Point2. 裏手にある三階蔵は江戸時代に建てられたもので、美観地区で唯一の三階建て土蔵です。 Point3. 保存修理工事では古い材料を取り外し、極力補修しながら伝統的工法で再利用されています。通りに面した1階の窓の開閉機構など、各所に当時の職人の技と工夫が折り込まれていて、見ごたえがあります。 建築年:1721年   <保存修理> 竣工年:2022年 設計監理:文化財建造物保存技術協会   住所:倉敷市本町1-40 開館時間:10:00 ~ 17:00( 最終受付 16:30 ) 休館日:月曜日・年末年始 ( 12/28~1/4 )   公式HP:井上家住宅 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 The Inoue House is 300 years old, the oldest merchant house in the Bikan Historical Quarter. It comprises five buildings: the main building, the three-story storehouse, the well structure, and the earthen wall running east–west, all of them important cultural properties. The site is currently undergoing conservation construction scheduled to be completed in 2022. Highlights Feature 1. On the seven second-story windows of the storehouses facing the old highway Honmachi-dori are shutters plastered with mortar to protect against fires. Of the merchant houses in the Bikan Historical Quarter, such shutters remain only on the Inoue House. Feature 2. The three-story storehouse in the back was built in the Edo period and is the only storehouse with three stories in the Bikan Historical Quarter. Feature 3. The ongoing conservation construction entails the careful removal of existing materials, which are repaired and reapplied as much as possible using traditional techniques. Original Construction, 1721   Repair, 2022/ Architects, The Japanese Association for Conservation of Architectural Monuments   Address: 1-40 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   URL: Inoue House, Cultural property protection Division

  • 大橋家住宅/Ohashi House 大橋家住宅/Ohashi House

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    長屋門のある町屋 長屋門のある町屋 A Merchant House with Nagaya-mon こども おとな English 200年以上いじょう前の町屋です。家の前は「街道かいどう」という昔の大通りでした。長屋門という門が家のつくりになったところをくぐりぬけ、前庭を通って入ります。 みどころ 1. 長屋門は格式かくしきが高く、ふつうは町屋につくられません。特別とくべつにみとめられたそうです。 2. しっけ対策たいさくで内側うちがわのかべにかわらを使っているめずらしい蔵くらがあります。 3. 見るだけでなく、さわって、くつろいで、昔のくらしを感じられる場所になっています。 建たてられた年:1796年   <保存ほぞん修理しゅうり> 完成かんせいした年:1991~1994年   住所:倉敷市阿知3-21-31 開館時間:9:00~17:00(4月~9月の土曜日は18:00まで) 休館日:12月・1月・2月の金曜(3月~11月は休館日なし)12月28日~1月3日休館   公式HP:大橋家住宅 参考URL:文化財保護課 江戸後期の町屋で、旧街道に面する長屋門をくぐり抜け、前庭を通って主屋に入ります。主屋、長屋門、米蔵、内蔵の計4棟が重要文化財です。1991年~1994年に保存修理工事が行われ、内部に入れるようになりました。 みどころ Point1. 通常は、長屋門が町屋につくられることはありません。帯刀を許された富裕な家柄で、代官所から特別に許可をもらった証です。 Point2. 主屋とつながり直接出入りのできる内蔵、調湿のため内壁が瓦貼になっている米蔵など、めずらしい蔵があります。 Point3. 単なる博物館でなく、モノに触れて、くつろいで、暮らしを感じられる場所になっています。 建築年:1796年   <保存修理> 竣工年:1991~1994年   住所:倉敷市阿知3-21-31 開館時間:9:00~17:00(4月~9月の土曜日は18:00まで) 休館日:12月・1月・2月の金曜(3月~11月は休館日なし)12月28日~1月3日休館   公式HP:大橋家住宅 参考URL:文化財保護課 The late Edo-period merchant house is entered through the front courtyard from the nagaya-mon gatehouse facing the former highway. A total of four structures are designated important cultural properties: the main building, the gatehouse, the rice granary, and the internal storehouse. Construction aimed at preservation was conducted on the structures in 1991–1994, and the building was opened to visitors thereafter. Highlights Feature 1. Nagaya-mon gatehouses are not ordinarily built for merchant houses. The gatehouse here attests to the wealth of the Ohashi family who was allowed to carry swords on their person, special permission granted by the magistrate's office. Feature 2. The storehouses have unique features: the internal storehouse is connected to the main building to allow direct access, and the interior walls of the rice granary are tiled to control humidity. Feature 3. Far from being a mere museum, the facility allows visitors to sate their curiosity through touch, to relax, and to get a sense of daily life. Original Construction, 1796   Repair, 1991 - 1994   Location: 3-21-31 Achi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Saturdays From April to September, 9:00 - 18:00) Closed: Fridays (December to February), 28 December to 3 January   URL: Ohashi House、 Cultural property protection Division

  • 大原美術館 分館/ Ohara Museum of Art (Annex) 大原美術館 分館/ Ohara Museum of Art (Annex)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    倉敷くらしきのまちなみ(美観地区びかんちく)を守る「城壁じょうへき」 倉敷の保存地区を守る「城壁」建築 The "Castle Wall" Protecting Kurashiki's Historic Preservation District こども おとな English 「新渓園しんけいえん」という庭をコの字にかこんで、しばふの広場をつくるため、南がわ道路のギリギリに建たてられています。美観地区びかんちくを守るお城しろのかべのようだと言われています。 みどころ 1. 南がわのかべに高梁川たかはしがわの川石をうめこんでいます。 2. 長い建物たてものをまわりの家と同じ大きさに区切り、町なみに調和させています。 3. 屋根はコンクリートがうねるようなおもしろい形をしています。 完成かんせいした年:1961年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺うらべ鎮太郎しずたろう   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※現在、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長えんちょうする場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日、振替ふりかえ休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 新渓園の南側をコの字に囲む建物です。旧市庁舎をはじめ、新たに開発されていく地域と、伝統的な屋並みの保存地区の境界として、保存地区を守る城壁のようにしたいと考えました。 みどころ Point1. 外壁はゆるやかな曲線で、高梁川の川石を埋め込んだプレコンブロック、はちまきの平瓦、白壁、コンクリート打ち放しの庇です。コの字に長い建物を、周辺の民家と同じ程度に区切ることで、町並みとの調和を意識しています。 Point2. 新渓園に連続する小広場をつくるため、敷地いっぱいに寄せ、広場から見た建物の軒を低くしています。 Point3. 屋根は鉄筋コンクリートのシェル構造。東絵画室の屋根は4本の柱で支えられ、壁から独立しています。屋根と壁の間はガラスブロックの採光面でしたが、2009年に作品の保存環境向上のため塞がれました。 Point4. 1986年に建物と広場の形を損なわないように、広場の地下に展示室を増築。2009年にガラス張りのエレベーターがつくられ、閉ざされた建物のイメージを変える視点が加わりました。 さらに詳しく  本館の南側に広がる新渓園という庭園を取り囲む、全長70 mの細長い街区に建つ大原美術館の分館である。南西に位置する丹下健三の倉敷市庁舎(1960年)を起点とした急激な都市化と近代化から、木造の街並みが残る元倉敷の保存地区を守る「城壁」として構想されたため、古い町家の高さを考慮したスケールと、白と黒を基調色とする方針が求められた。  しかし伝統的なモチーフの単なる引用ではなく、白壁に黒瓦の水平ラインで全体を統一しつつも、鉄筋コンクリート造でシェル構造の屋根がかけられガラス・ブロックが使用されるなど先進的な技術や材料を用いている。街路側外壁の曲線を描く腰部分は自然石を埋め込んだプレキャスト・コンクリート・ブロック、庇部分は杉板によるコンクリート打放し、屋根には玉砂利を埋め込むなど、工芸的な手仕事によって簡素で力強い造形にまとめられた。  平面と立面は独自に考案されたクラシキモデュール(KM)によって小気味良く分節され、親しみやすい落ち着いた雰囲気を醸し出している。 (松隈洋・京都工芸繊維大学教授) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年:1961年 設計:倉敷レイヨン営繕部(浦辺鎮太郎)   <地下展示室増築> 竣工年:1986年 設計:浦辺設計   <収蔵庫建替え> 竣工年:2009年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※現在、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長する場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日、振替休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 The building envelops the south end of Shinkeien from three of four sides. Like a castle wall, it is intended to serve as a boundary between areas being newly developed, including the former city hall, and the historic district preserving traditional townscapes. Highlights Feature 1. The exterior wall curves softly and is made of precast concrete blocks embedded with river rocks from Takahashi-gawa, whitewashed walls, and tiles below the exposed concrete eaves. Shaping the long building to bend and cut in line with surrounding residential structures ensures a balanced streetscape. Feature 2. To create a small lawn that connects with Shinkeien, the facility is moved to the edges of the site and its eaves are made to appear low when viewed from the lawn. Feature 3. The roof is a reinforced concrete shell structure. The East Wing Painting Gallery's roof is supported by four columns and independent of the walls. Although the space was once daylit through glass blocks installed between the roof and walls, they were closed off in 2009 to better preserve the works housed within the gallery. Feature 4. In 1986, a basement exhibition space was added to maintain the lawn and facility's shapes. A glass elevator was installed in 2009, shifting the space away from any impression of being shut away. More info. This is an annex built in a 70-meter-long narrow block surrounding a garden called Shinkeien which extends on the south of the main building. Since it was conceived as a "castle wall" to protect the Moto-Kurashiki preservation area where there is a surviving wooden townscape from the rapid urbanization and modernization which started from the Kurashiki City Hall (1960) by Kenzo Tange located in the southwest, a scale that takes into consideration the height of the old townhouses and the policy of white and black as the base colors were required. However, it is not a mere quotation of traditional motifs but uses advanced technologies and materials such as shell-structure roofs made of reinforced concrete as well as glass blocks while unifying the whole with the horizontal lines of white walls and black tiles. The curved lower portion of the exterior walls on the street side is a precast concrete block embedded with natural stones, the pent roof portion is a concrete cast with cedar board formwork, and the roof is embedded with round gravel, etc. It was composed of simple, powerful forms which made use of craft-like manual work. The plans and the elevations are pleasantly articulated by the Kurashiki Module (KM), an original invention, creating a friendly and calm atmosphere. (Hiroshi Matsukuma・Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1961/ Architects, Kurashiki Rayon Facility Management Department (Shizutaro Urabe)   Underground Exhibition Room (Extension), 1986/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Storage (Renovation), 2009/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 1-1-15 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30) *Closed due to COVID-19 *In addition to the above, the museum may be specially Extended opening hours. Closed: Mondays, 28 to 31 December *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday.   URL: Ohara Museum of Art

  • 倉敷市立自然史博物館 (旧倉敷市水道局庁舎)/Kurashiki Museum of Natural History (Former City Bureau of Waterworks Building) 倉敷市立自然史博物館 (旧倉敷市水道局庁舎)/Kurashiki Museum of Natural History (Former City Bureau of Waterworks Building)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    四角くてシンプルな赤い屋根の建物たてもの 四角くてシンプルな赤い屋根の建物 A Simple, Square, Red-Roofed Building こども おとな English 今の市立美術館びじゅつかんが市役所で、自然史博物館しぜんしはくぶつかんはその一部、水道局の建物たてものでした。 みどころ 1. 美観地区びかんちくの外なので、古い町なみになじませないシンプルな四角い建物たてものです。 2. 階だんやトイレを真ん中に集め、外のかべを骨組ほねぐみにしています。 3. シンプルなので使いやすく、自然史博物館しぜんしはくぶつかんとして利用りようできました。 <旧倉敷市水道局庁舎きゅうくらしきしすいどうきょくちょうしゃ> 完成かんせいした年: 1971年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   <倉敷市立自然史博物館くらしきしりつしぜんしはくぶつかん> 完成かんせいした年: 1983年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~17:15(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)年末年始(12月28日~1月4日) ※祝日・振替ふりかえ休日は開館   公式HP:倉敷市立自然史博物館くらしきしりつしぜんしはくぶつかん 旧市庁舎(市立美術館)、撤去された分庁舎と横並びに建てられました。市庁舎移転により自然史博物館として改修されました。 みどころ Point1. 丹下健三が計画していた市民広場に位置します。美観地区の外側であり、内側とは明確に区分され、外壁はシンプルな白色、屋根は赤色となっています。 Point2. 階段やトイレを集めたセンターコアと格子状の外壁を構造とし、内外に柱型のないシンプルな構成で、官庁建築として合理的です。 Point3. センターコアで平面計画の自由度も高く、自然史博物館へ転用されました。建物の寿命は、構造面だけでなく機能面で決まることも多いです。 さらに詳しく  旧倉敷市庁舎・分庁舎と同じく、倉敷国際ホテル(1963年)や新渓園と向かい合う市の中心に位置する広場内に、旧市庁舎の一部として建てられた。分庁舎とは2階の渡り廊下で通じており、正面は倉敷中央通りに面している。  中央の階段室を囲むように室を配置したセンターコアプランと、建物内外に柱型の出ない構造を採用したシンプルな構成は、官庁建築としての機能を合理的に解決するとともに、将来の多様な用途を見込んだフレキシビリティも兼ね備えている。エルミンサッシュが整然と並ぶ彫りの深い窓まわりは、倉敷レイヨン中央研究所(1968年)や倉敷商工会館(1971年)と類似した意匠であり、この時期の浦辺の特徴を表している。  1982年、新市庁舎建設にともなう倉敷市旧庁舎跡地利用計画の一環で倉敷市立自然史博物館として改修され、現在に至っている。分庁舎の跡地に建てられた市立図書館とともに、今もなお倉敷の文化エリアの一端を担っている。 (櫻本康乃・浦辺設計) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 <旧倉敷市水道局庁舎> 竣工年: 1971年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   <倉敷市立自然史博物館> 竣工年: 1983年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市中央2-6-1 開館時間:9:00~17:15(入館は16:45まで) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)年末年始(12月28日~1月4日) ※祝日・振替休日は開館   公式HP:倉敷市立自然史博物館 This building was built abreast of the former city hall (the present-day Kurashiki City Art Museum) and the now-demolished branch office building. When the city hall was relocated, this building was renovated into a museum of natural history. Highlights Feature 1. It is located where Kenzo Tange planned a public square. It sits on the edge of the Bikan Historical Quarter, clearly distinguished from the rest of the quarter with simple whitewashed exterior walls and a red roof. Feature 2. Structurally, the core is composed of stairs and restrooms, surrounded by grid-like exterior walls in a simple composition lacking columns on either the interior or exterior, befitting a rational government building. Feature 3. A centralized core makes for a high degree of freedom in floor planning, which allowed the building's reuse as a natural history museum. A building's lifespan often depends not only on its structure but oftentimes its function. More info. This was built as part of the former city hall in an open space located in the center of the city, facing the Kurashiki Kokusai Hotel (1963) and Shinkei-En (Garden and Hall), as the former Kurashiki City Hall and the branch office building did. It communicated with the branch office building on the second floor, and its front faced Kurashiki Chuo-Dori street. The simple planning adopting a center core plan in which rooms are arranged around the central stair and a structure with pilasters that do not protrude either in or out is a rational solution that meets the function as a government office building and provides the flexibility that takes into consideration diverse uses for the future as well. The fenestration with deep recesses and orderly arrangement of the "Elmin" windows is a design analogous to that of the Kurashiki Rayon Central Research Center (1968) and the Kurashiki Chamber of Commerce and Industry Hall (1971), representative of the characteristics of Urabe's from this period. In 1982, it was remodeled as the Kurashiki Museum of Natural History as part of the Development Plan for the Former Kurashiki City Government Building Site, which accompanied the construction of the new city hall, and it still exists today as such. With the city library built on the site of the branch office building, it still plays a part in the Kurashiki cultural area. (Yasuno Sakuramoto・URABESEKKEI) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 Former City Bureau of Waterworks Building, 1971/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Museum of Natural History, 1983/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 2-6-1 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:15 (Last Entry: 16:45) Closed: Mondays, New Year's holidays (28 December to 4 January) *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be close on Tuesday.   URL: Kurashiki Museum of Natural History

  • 倉敷珈琲館/Coffee-Kan 倉敷珈琲館/Coffee-Kan

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    何もしないこと、それこそがすべて DOING NOTHING IS DOING ALL DOING NOTHING IS DOING ALL こども おとな English 古い蔵くらを使ったきっさ店です。できるだけ昔のままですが、内部の新しいレンガかべもなじんでいます。 みどころ 1. 小さな中庭からのやわらかな光が、ゆったりとした時間をつくります。 2. ゆかのタイルはイタリア製せい。古くなく、外国風でもないお店です。 3. 「何もしないこと、それこそがすべて」という英語えいごが、天井てんじょうの木に書かれています。 建たてられた年: 大正時代   <珈琲館こーひーかん> 完成かんせいした年: 1971年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町4-1 営業時間:10:00~17:00 定休日:無休   公式HP:珈琲館こーひーかん 旅館くらしきの勝手口塀を入口とし、古い蔵の内部を改修した喫茶店です。外観も内部もできるだけ元のままですが、内部のレンガ壁は改修時のものです。 みどころ Point1. サンルームの先に小さな中庭があります。トップライトや木製ガラス格子戸から入る柔らかな光が、ゆったりとした時間をつくります。 Point2. 床の茶色のタイルはイタリア製です。この地域の中で保存すべきものと、積極的に付加すべきものとを見極め、民芸調でも西洋風でもない雰囲気になっています。 Point3. 「DOING NOTHING IS DOING ALL」という言葉が内部の梁に刻まれています。「日本の建築家の心得としてきた」という浦辺鎮太郎が刻んだ言葉で、「DOING NOTHING IS DOING ILL(小人閑居して不善を為す)」ということわざをもじっています。 建築年: 大正時代   <珈琲館> 竣工年: 1971年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市本町4-1 営業時間:10:00~17:00 定休日:無休   公式HP:珈琲館 Kurashiki Coffee-kan (coffeehouse) is a renovated storehouse with its entrance along the same wall as the Ryokan Kurashiki's service door. As much of the original exterior and interior as possible have been retained, but the brick walls are the result of the renovation. Highlights Feature 1. A small courtyard lies beyond the sunroom. Soft light coming in through the skylight and wood-and-glass lattice door create a relaxing ambience. Feature 2. The brown tiles on the floor are from Italy. Distinguishing between what in the area should be preserved and what should be intentionally added in has resulted in an ambience not quite rustically Japanese or Western. Feature 3. The phrase "Doing nothing is doing all" is carved into a beam inside the coffeehouse. These are the words of Shizutaro Urabe, who wanted them to serve as a guiding principle for Japanese architects. It parodies the adage "Doing nothing is doing ill." Original Construction, Taisho Period   Coffee-Kan, 1971/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 4-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 17:00 Closed: None   URL: Coffee-Kan

  • 今橋/Imabashi Bridge 今橋/Imabashi Bridge

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    20体の竜りゅうの彫刻ちょうこくがある橋 20体の龍が刻まれた橋 The Bridge of Twenty Dragons こども おとな English 天皇家てんのうけが来ることになり、大原孫三郎まごさぶろうが当時の古い石橋を自分のお金でつくり替かえ、倉敷市くらしきしに寄付きふしました。 みどころ 1. 橋の石柱の上に菊きく、横に竜りゅうの彫刻ちょうこくがあります。画家・児島こじま虎次郎とらじろうのデザインです。 2. 中国では龍りゅうの爪つめの数(3~5本)が多いほど立派りっぱだそうです。 3. 本体はコンクリートですが、仕上げに石が使われた優雅ゆうがな橋です。 建たてられた年:1926年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえ、欄干らんかんのデザインは児島こじま虎次郎とらじろう   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-2-1   皇太子訪問(のちの昭和天皇、1926年)前に、大原孫三郎が当時の石橋は貧相であると考え、私財を投入して造り替え、倉敷市に寄進しました。 みどころ Point1. 欄干頂部の菊、側面の龍の彫刻は児島虎次郎デザインです。中国では龍の爪の数(3~5本)が品格を表し、多いほど上位とされます。 Point2. 石橋に見えますが鉄筋コンクリート造で、仕上げが万成石のどっしりと優雅な橋です。先代の今橋(1846年)は、高砂橋と名を変え、今は前神橋の横に並んでいます。 Point3. 「今橋」の文字は大原孫三郎の字で、「龍」は大原孫三郎の干支です。橋の側面に、設計者、工事者の名が刻まれていますが、実際には設計は薬師寺主計、彫刻や欄干のデザインが児島虎次郎です。 竣工年:1926年 設計:薬師寺主計、欄干のデザインは児島虎次郎   住所:倉敷市中央1-2-1 To replace a stone bridge, he thought too shabby for an impending visit from the crown prince (who would later become the Emperor Showa in 1926), Magosaburo Ohara invested private funds to construct a new bridge and donated it to Kurashiki. Highlights Feature 1. The chrysanthemums engraved into the crown of the posts and the dragons in the balustrade are designed by Torajiro Kojima. In China, the number of claws a dragon possesses (between three and five) signifies its station; the higher the number, the more respect it commands. Feature 2. Although stone by appearance, the weighty, elegant Ima-bashi Bridge is in fact reinforced concrete finished with granite from Mannari district. Ima-bashi's predecessor (1846) was renamed Takasago-bashi and is located next to Maegami-bashi today. Feature 3. The characters for Ima-bashi, engraved on the bridge, are in Magosaburo Ohara's hand, and his zodiac was the dragon. The names of the bridge's designer and builders are engraved on the side of the bridge; the design is by Kazue Yakushiji and the engravings and balustrade designs are by Torajiro Kojima. 1926/ Architects, Kazue Yakushiji (The design of balustrade is Torajiro Kojima)   Location: 1-2-1 Chuo, Kurashiki  

  • 林源十郎商店/Hayashi Genjuro Shouten 林源十郎商店/Hayashi Genjuro Shouten

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    路地ろじ(=家と家の間のせまい道)の小道が楽しいお店 路地の小道が楽しいお店 A Shop with a Meandering Alleyway こども おとな English 元々は薬のお店。柱などの木のほね組みは昔のまま、建物たてものを新しい庭と路地でつなぎました。表通りから、ショップやカフェを楽しみながら歩けます。 みどころ 1. 針はりでひっかいたようなタイルなど、通りから見た建物たてもの は昔のままです。 2.ゆかや天井てんじょうなど古くても良よいものは残のこ して修理しゅうり。カタカタと音がする木のゆかがかわいいです。 3.屋上のテラスから町の屋根が見えます。倉敷くらしきらしさを感じます。 建たてられた年:1934年   <お店に改修かいしゅう> 完成した年:2012年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷建築工房くらしきけんちくこうぼう 楢村ならむら徹とおる設計室   住所:倉敷くらしき市阿知2-23-10 開館時間:営業えいぎょう時間は各店舗かくてんぽにて異 こと なります。公式HPにてご確認かくにんください。 休館日:月曜日 ※休日の場合は翌日よくじつ   公式HP:林源十郎商店 はやしげんじゅうろうしょうてん 参考さんこうURL:クラシキ文華ぶんか 昭和初期の薬問屋の店舗、主屋、離れ、蔵(江戸期)を、構造材や配置はそのままに、新しい庭と路地でつなぎました。表通りから、ショップやカフェ・レストランを楽しみながら回遊できます。 みどころ Point1. 通りからの外観はほぼ当時のままで、陰影が美しいスクラッチタイルも、店名の文字の書き方にも名残があります。 Point2. 内部は、木造ブレースや鉄骨柱でさりげなく補強され、新設されたエレベーターシャフトの朱色の壁も、木造3階建ての建物にマッチしています。1階の床や天井など古くても良いものは残して修繕。カタカタとなる木タイルの床が可愛らしくてたまりません。 Point3. 屋上展望テラスから屋並み(屋根の連なり)が見えます。倉敷らしさを感じる場所のひとつです。 建築年:1934年(母屋)   <改修> 竣工年:2012年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市阿知2-23-10 開館時間:営業時間は各店舗にて異なります。公式HPにてご確認ください。 休館日:月曜日 ※休日の場合は翌日   公式HP:林源十郎商店 参考URL:クラシキ文華 Keeping structural pieces and arrangement intact, an early Showa-era medicine wholesaler's shop, main building, annex, and Edo-period storehouse were connected by a courtyard and alley. Visitors may wander along main street and admire the shop and the café and restaurant. Highlights Feature 1. From the street, the building looks unchanged from its early days. Scratch-face tiles create lovely shadows, and the old shop's name in its original right-to-left writing style evokes nostalgia. Feature 2. The interior is subtly reinforced with wooden braces and steel columns, and the vermilion walls of the newly installed elevator shaft match the three-story timber structure. The 1st-floor ceiling and flooring were repaired but kept intact, as were other old but quality elements. The irresistibly endearing wooden floor tiles clatter as they're walked upon. Feature 3. The rooftop terrace offers a view of the townscape (or rather, its rooftops). It is one of the locations where visitors may relish the unique allure of Kurashiki. Original Construction, 1934 (Main building)   Conversion, 2012/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 2-23-10 Achi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: Please check on the official website of each shop. Closed: Mondays *If a national holiday falls on a Monday, the shop will be close on Tuesday.   URL: Hayashi Genjuro Shouten

  • クラシキ庭苑/Kurashiki Teien クラシキ庭苑/Kurashiki Teien

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    のぞきたくなる真っすぐな路地(=家と家の間のせまい道) のぞきたくなる真っすぐな路地 A Straight, Inviting Alley こども おとな English おくに細長い町屋(=まちの家)を修理しゅうりしました。外から見た形は、ほぼ元のまま。路地がおくまでつづき、お店がならんでいます。 みどころ 1. 古い民家みんかをのこすため、表通りのお店だけでなく、おくにもお店があります。 2. 路地のとちゅうの中庭は、外国のカフェのようにくつろげます。 3. 土かべなど、今の生活に合うように、新しいデザインを取り入れています。 建たてられた年:江戸時代えどじだい(約やく200年前)   <クラシキ庭苑ていえん> 完成かんせいした年:2014年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷建築工房くらしきけんちくこうぼう 楢村徹設計室ならむらとおるせっけいしつ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町5-27 開館時間:営業えいぎょう時間は各店舗かくてんぽにて異ことなります。公式HPにてご確認かくにんください。 休館日:休業日は各店舗かくてんぽにて異ことなります。公式HPにてご確認かくにんください。   空き家だった奥に細長い町屋を改修しました。外観の装いはほぼ元のまま。路地が奥まで続き、店舗が並びます。 みどころ Point1. 入口を引違い戸から両開き戸に変え、魅力ある路地が人を引き込んでいます。古い民家を残すには、経済的なことも大切で、奥の部分が収益を生む仕組みづくりをしています。 Point2. 路地の途中にある中庭の軒は深く、机・イスでくつろげるイタリアのパティオのような空間が広がっています。 Point3. 古いものを残すだけでは、新しい生活に合わなくなるため、新しい感覚のデザインを取り入れています。新たに設けた土壁はバナキュラー(土着的)なものですが、古い町屋になじみ、温かみを加えています。 建築年:江戸時代(約200年前)   <クラシキ庭苑> 竣工年:2014年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町5-27 開館時間:営業時間は各店舗にて異なります。公式HPにてご確認ください。 休館日:休業日は各店舗にて異なります。公式HPにてご確認ください。   Kurashiki Teien was a merchant house, long and narrow toward the back, which was renovated without much changing the building's external appearance. An alley stretches back, lined with shops. Highlights Feature 1. The sliding door at the entrance has been replaced by double doors, charming visitors into the alley beyond them. Economic matters must be taken into consideration when preserving old residences, and here a system is being devised to generate profit from the back of the house. Feature 2. Partway through the alley, a courtyard and its large eaves provide a space like an Italian patio, where visitors can pull up one of the chairs to a table and unwind. Feature 3. Simply preserving what's old fails to adapt it to new lifestyles; instead, a new interpretation of design must be adopted. The newly constructed earthen wall is in a vernacular (indigenous) style that adds warmth while blending into the surrounding elements of merchant housing. Original Construction, Edo Period (About 200 years ago)   Kurashiki Teien, 2014/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 5-27 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: Please check on the official website of each shop. Closed: Please check on the official website of each shop.  

  • 御坂の家/Onsaka-no-Ie (Rental Villa) 御坂の家/Onsaka-no-Ie (Rental Villa)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    住むように泊とまる家 住むように泊まる家 Lodging Like Living at Home こども おとな English 美観地区びかんちくでも空き家や駐車場ちゅうしゃじょうがふえるようになり、「まちに灯あかりをともす」という合言葉でまちの人たちが古い民家みんかを修理しゅうりしました。小さなちいさな家のホテルです。 みどころ 1. ゆかや屋根など古い民家みんかの形をのこして、おふろやキッチンを整え、快適かいてきになりました。 2. まどを開けると、心地よい風がふきぬけ、町なみが見わたせます。 3. 古くなったところを外したり、こどもたちもいっしょに土かべをぬりました。 建たてられた年:昭和初期しょうわしょき   <御坂の家おんさかのいえ> 完成かんせいした年:2007年 設計監理せっけいかんりした人:倉敷建築工房くらしきけんちくこうぼう 楢村徹設計室ならむらとおるせっけいしつ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町11-16   公式HP:御坂の家おんさかのいえ 倉敷の中心地でも空き家や駐車場が目立つようになり、まちの人たちで設立したNPO法人倉敷町家トラストが「まちに灯をともす」という合言葉で古い民家を再生。10坪の小さな宿泊施設です。 みどころ Point1. 畳に土間、梁など、古い民家の要素はそのままに、お風呂やキッチンを完備し、懐かしさに快適性が加わりました。民芸品のお皿やコップなど、質の高い倉敷らしさも味わえます。 Point2. 縁側の建具を全て開けると、古い瓦でデザインされた庭と一体に。心地よい風が吹き抜け、町並みが一望できます。 Point3. ワークショップを行い、みんなで一緒に解体したり、こどもたちと荒壁を塗ったり。まちの人が関わることで、できた後もみんなに愛されています。 建築年:昭和初期   <御坂の家> 竣工年:2007年 設計監理:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町11-16   公式HP:御坂の家 Even in the heart of Kurashiki, abandoned houses and parking lots are becoming conspicuous. With the slogan "lighting up the town," the nonprofit Kurashiki Machiya Trust was established by Kurashiki's residents, who renovated one such old house into a small lodging of 364 m2. Highlights Feature 1. Tatami mats, earthen floors, beams, and other elements of classic residential architecture were left as they were. The bath and kitchen were updated and are fully equipped to add comfort to the abundant nostalgia. Here, visitors may also enjoy the high-quality artisanship of Kurashiki by using the provided folkcrafts, such as plates and cups. Feature 2. Opening all the windows and doors on the engawa veranda unites the space and the garden, which incorporates old roof tiles into its design. Visitors may welcome a comforting breeze and admire the townscape. Feature 3. Residents held and attended workshops, dismantled parts of the house in each other's company, and invited children to paint over walls with scratch coating. Because the town came together to create the house as it stands, it remains beloved by them today. Original Construction, Early Showa Period   Onsaka-no-Ie, 2007/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 11-16 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   URL: Onsaka-no-Ie (Rental Villa)

  • 若竹の園/Wakatake-no- Sono (Preschool) 若竹の園/Wakatake-no- Sono (Preschool)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    倉敷くらしきのまちなみ(美観地区びかんちく)を守る「城壁じょうへき」 倉敷の保存地区を守る「城壁」建築 The "Castle Wall" Protecting Kurashiki's Historic Preservation District こども おとな English 「新渓園しんけいえん」という庭をコの字にかこんで、しばふの広場をつくるため、南がわ道路のギリギリに建たてられています。美観地区びかんちくを守るお城しろのかべのようだと言われています。 みどころ 1. 南がわのかべに高梁川たかはしがわの川石をうめこんでいます。 2. 長い建物たてものをまわりの家と同じ大きさに区切り、町なみに調和させています。 3. 屋根はコンクリートがうねるようなおもしろい形をしています。 完成かんせいした年:1961年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺うらべ鎮太郎しずたろう   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※現在、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長えんちょうする場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日、振替ふりかえ休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 新渓園の南側をコの字に囲む建物です。旧市庁舎をはじめ、新たに開発されていく地域と、伝統的な屋並みの保存地区の境界として、保存地区を守る城壁のようにしたいと考えました。 みどころ Point1. 外壁はゆるやかな曲線で、高梁川の川石を埋め込んだプレコンブロック、はちまきの平瓦、白壁、コンクリート打ち放しの庇です。コの字に長い建物を、周辺の民家と同じ程度に区切ることで、町並みとの調和を意識しています。 Point2. 新渓園に連続する小広場をつくるため、敷地いっぱいに寄せ、広場から見た建物の軒を低くしています。 Point3. 屋根は鉄筋コンクリートのシェル構造。東絵画室の屋根は4本の柱で支えられ、壁から独立しています。屋根と壁の間はガラスブロックの採光面でしたが、2009年に作品の保存環境向上のため塞がれました。 Point4. 1986年に建物と広場の形を損なわないように、広場の地下に展示室を増築。2009年にガラス張りのエレベーターがつくられ、閉ざされた建物のイメージを変える視点が加わりました。 さらに詳しく  本館の南側に広がる新渓園という庭園を取り囲む、全長70 mの細長い街区に建つ大原美術館の分館である。南西に位置する丹下健三の倉敷市庁舎(1960年)を起点とした急激な都市化と近代化から、木造の街並みが残る元倉敷の保存地区を守る「城壁」として構想されたため、古い町家の高さを考慮したスケールと、白と黒を基調色とする方針が求められた。  しかし伝統的なモチーフの単なる引用ではなく、白壁に黒瓦の水平ラインで全体を統一しつつも、鉄筋コンクリート造でシェル構造の屋根がかけられガラス・ブロックが使用されるなど先進的な技術や材料を用いている。街路側外壁の曲線を描く腰部分は自然石を埋め込んだプレキャスト・コンクリート・ブロック、庇部分は杉板によるコンクリート打放し、屋根には玉砂利を埋め込むなど、工芸的な手仕事によって簡素で力強い造形にまとめられた。  平面と立面は独自に考案されたクラシキモデュール(KM)によって小気味良く分節され、親しみやすい落ち着いた雰囲気を醸し出している。 (松隈洋・京都工芸繊維大学教授) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年:1961年 設計:倉敷レイヨン営繕部(浦辺鎮太郎)   <地下展示室増築> 竣工年:1986年 設計:浦辺設計   <収蔵庫建替え> 竣工年:2009年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-15 開館時間:9:00~17:00(入館は16:30まで)※現在、休館中 ※ゴールデンウィークなどは一部開館時間を延長する場合あり 休館日:月曜日・12月28~31日 ※休館日が祝日、振替休日と重なった場合は開館   公式HP:大原美術館 The building envelops the south end of Shinkeien from three of four sides. Like a castle wall, it is intended to serve as a boundary between areas being newly developed, including the former city hall, and the historic district preserving traditional townscapes. Highlights Feature 1. The exterior wall curves softly and is made of precast concrete blocks embedded with river rocks from Takahashi-gawa, whitewashed walls, and tiles below the exposed concrete eaves. Shaping the long building to bend and cut in line with surrounding residential structures ensures a balanced streetscape. Feature 2. To create a small lawn that connects with Shinkeien, the facility is moved to the edges of the site and its eaves are made to appear low when viewed from the lawn. Feature 3. The roof is a reinforced concrete shell structure. The East Wing Painting Gallery's roof is supported by four columns and independent of the walls. Although the space was once daylit through glass blocks installed between the roof and walls, they were closed off in 2009 to better preserve the works housed within the gallery. Feature 4. In 1986, a basement exhibition space was added to maintain the lawn and facility's shapes. A glass elevator was installed in 2009, shifting the space away from any impression of being shut away. More info. This is an annex built in a 70-meter-long narrow block surrounding a garden called Shinkeien which extends on the south of the main building. Since it was conceived as a "castle wall" to protect the Moto-Kurashiki preservation area where there is a surviving wooden townscape from the rapid urbanization and modernization which started from the Kurashiki City Hall (1960) by Kenzo Tange located in the southwest, a scale that takes into consideration the height of the old townhouses and the policy of white and black as the base colors were required. However, it is not a mere quotation of traditional motifs but uses advanced technologies and materials such as shell-structure roofs made of reinforced concrete as well as glass blocks while unifying the whole with the horizontal lines of white walls and black tiles. The curved lower portion of the exterior walls on the street side is a precast concrete block embedded with natural stones, the pent roof portion is a concrete cast with cedar board formwork, and the roof is embedded with round gravel, etc. It was composed of simple, powerful forms which made use of craft-like manual work. The plans and the elevations are pleasantly articulated by the Kurashiki Module (KM), an original invention, creating a friendly and calm atmosphere. (Hiroshi Matsukuma・Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1961/ Architects, Kurashiki Rayon Facility Management Department (Shizutaro Urabe)   Underground Exhibition Room (Extension), 1986/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Storage (Renovation), 2009/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 1-1-15 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30) *Closed due to COVID-19 *In addition to the above, the museum may be specially Extended opening hours. Closed: Mondays, 28 to 31 December *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday.   URL: Ohara Museum of Art

  • 倉敷館 (旧倉敷町役場)/Kurashikikan (Tourist information office) 倉敷館 (旧倉敷町役場)/Kurashikikan (Tourist information office)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    外からみても、内からみても美しい 外からみても、内からみても美しい Beautiful Inside and Out こども おとな English 100年以上いじょう前、倉敷町くらしきまちの役場として建たてられ、倉敷市くらしきしになってからは市役所でした。30年前に観光案内所かんこうあんないしょ、休けい所となりましたが、建物たてものは昔のままです。 みどころ 1. 美観地区びかんちくのシンボルです。夕方、ガラスまどの明かりがとてもきれいです。 2. 2階のまどから町なみが見えます。川のコイや、屋根にサギという鳥が見えることがあります。 3. 休けい所のつくえやイスは、真備町まびちょうの竹でつくった家具です。 <倉敷くらしき町役場まちやくば> 完成した年: 1917年 設計せっけいした人:小林篤二とくじ   <倉敷館くらしきかん> 完成した年:1971年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺うらべ建築事務所けんちくじむしょ   <リニューアル> 完成した年:2020年 設計せっけいした人:MEG   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-4-8 開館時間:9:00~18:00 休館日:年中無休。ただし、年末年始は変更の場合あり   公式HP:倉敷館(観光案内所) 参考URL:文化財保護課 1917年に倉敷町役場として建てられ、1932年まで市役所でした。1971年に観光案内所、休憩所となりましたが、外観は当時のまま。2020年にリニューアルされました。 みどころ Point1. 中橋のたもと、倉敷川の折れ点にある擬洋風建築で、美観地区内の町のシンボルの1つです。夕方、ガラス窓から灯がこぼれ出る様子はとてもノスタルジックです。 Point2. 2階の休憩所の窓から眺めると、町屋の屋並みが見えます。川にはコイがゆったりと泳ぎ、青々とした柳、川舟、屋根にたたずむサギが見えることも。 Point3. 休憩所の机やイスは、倉敷の真備町の竹集成材の家具です。地元の竹を使うことで、竹林の整備、真備町の活性化につなげ、竹を通じた循環型社会の実現に取り組んでいます。 <倉敷町役場> 竣工年: 1917年 設計:小林篤二   <倉敷館> 竣工年:1971年 設計:浦辺建築事務所(改修)   <リニューアル> 竣工年:2020年 設計:MEG   住所:倉敷市中央1-4-8 開館時間:9:00~18:00 休館日:年中無休。ただし、年末年始は変更の場合あり   公式HP:倉敷館(観光案内所) 参考URL:文化財保護課 The structure was built as Kurashiki's municipal office in 1917 and served as city hall until 1932. Although it became a tourist information center in 1971, the building's exterior remains unchanged. It was renovated in 2020. Highlights Feature 1. Built at the foot of the Nakabashi Bridge and where the waters of Kurashiki-gawa round a corner, the quasi-Western building is among the iconic symbols of Kurashiki located in the Bikan Historical Quarter. The lights gleaming beyond the glass windows in the evening makes for a nostalgic sight. Feature 2. The townscape of merchant houses can be seen from the second-story break room's windows. From here, glimpses may be caught of koi fish swimming lazily in the river, lush willows and riverboats, and herons perched on rooftops. Feature 3. The desks and chairs in the break room are made of laminated bamboo from Mabi-cho, Kurashiki. Using local bamboo reinforces the maintenance of regional bamboo forests, boosts Mabi-cho's economy, and contributes to achieving the ideal of a sustainable society. Kurashiki Town Hall, 1917/ Architect, Tokuji Kobayashi   Kurashikikan, 1971/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Repair, 2020/ Architects, MEG   Location: 1-4-8 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 18:00 Closed: None   URL: Kurashikikan (Tourist information office), Cultural property protection Division

  • 亀遊亭/Restaurant Kiyutei 亀遊亭/Restaurant Kiyutei

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    100年以上いじょう倉敷川くらしきがわによりそってきた建物たてもの 100年以上倉敷川に寄り添ってきた建物 The Building That's Watched over Kurashiki-gawa for More Than 100 Years こども おとな English 100年以上いじょう前に倉敷教会くらしききょうかいとして建たてられました。幼稚園ようちえんとしても使われましたが、今はレストランとして使われています。 みどころ 1.1階おくのかべに棟方むなかた志功しこうの文字がかざってあります。 2.亀遊亭きゆうてい北がわの用水路のあとに白鳥のお家があります。 3. レストランの2階から、倉敷川くらしきがわと大原美術館おおはらびじゅつかんがながめられます。 建たてられた年:1911年   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-2-20 開館時間:11:00~21:00 休館日:水曜日   公式HP:亀遊亭 1911年に倉敷教会の最初の会堂として建てられました。幼稚園が併設されましたが、1年足らずで手狭になり、鶴形山の向こう側(北に約500m)に移転。その後、裁縫塾、診療所、かき増として利用され、1978年にレストラン亀遊亭になりました。 みどころ Point1. 1階奥の壁には棟方志功の書額が掛けられています。 Point2. 昔は北と南の用水路が合流し、倉敷川になる境目で、川中島と呼ばれていました。当時は塀がなく、玄関アーチが良く見えたようです。東側に倉敷川の源流点、北側の用水路跡には白鳥のお家があります。 Point3. 2階の個室「川蝉」からは、倉敷川と大原美術館を眺め、ゆったりとしたひと時を独り占めできます。 建築年:1911年   住所:倉敷市中央1-2-20 開館時間:11:00~21:00 休館日:水曜日   公式HP:亀遊亭 Kiyutei was built in 1911 as a place of worship for the Kurashiki Church. Although a kindergarten was added, it was deemed too small for its intended purpose within a year and moved beyond Tsurugata-yama (a mountain roughly 500 m north). The building was used thereafter as a sewing school, a clinic, and an oyster restaurant, at last hosting Restaurant Kiyutei in 1978. Highlights Feature 1. Shiko Munakata's calligraphy is displayed on the wall at the back of the 1st floor. Feature 2. In bygone eras, the area was called Kawanaka-jima, situated where irrigation canals to the north and south met to form Kurashiki-gawa River. Without a wall to block the view in those days, the arch at the entrance was easy to view. To the east lie the headwaters of Kurashiki-gawa, and to the north the remains of an irrigation canal, where today there sits a sheltered nest for the swans. Feature 3. Visitors may relax and admire the Ohara Museum of Art and the waters of Kurashiki-gawa from the 2nd-floor room "Kawasemi" (Kingfisher). Original Construction, 1911   Location: 1-2-20 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 11:00 - 21:00 Closed: Wednesdays   URL: Restaurant Kiyutei

  • 本町通り、三楽会館/Honmachi-dori Street, Sanraku Kaikan 本町通り、三楽会館/Honmachi-dori Street, Sanraku Kaikan

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    住む人のくらしが息づく通り 住む人の暮らしが息づく通り The Street Sustaining Local Livelihoods こども おとな English 本町通りにはものづくりの職人しょくにんが住んでいた町屋が多くあります。その中で、三楽会館は、倉敷くらしき郵便局ゆうびんきょくとして建たててられた新しいデザインの建物たてものです。 みどころ 1. 三楽会館の屋根の上には、とがったひし形のかざりがあります。 2. 本町通りには、白いかべ、黒いかわらが美しくのこっています。 3. 電柱をなくす工事が進み、美しい町なみが広がっています。 <三楽会館>   完成かんせいした年:1902年   住所:倉敷くらしき市阿知2-25-33   本町通りは旧街道で職人が軒を連ねていました。三楽会館は、倉敷郵便局として建てられ、現在は大原總一郎の夢を引継ぎ、3人の子どもたちが創立した音楽プロモート会社「くらしきコンサート」などが事務所を構えています。 みどころ Point1. 三楽会館の寄棟の瓦屋根には、洋風のひし形棟飾りがあり、軒先近くには和風の鬼瓦もあり、和洋折衷がみられます。 Point2. 本町通りは、白壁、張り瓦、倉敷格子が美しい、今も暮らしが息づく通りです。近年、景観面への配慮から、電柱の埋設化が進み、美しい町並みが広がります。 Point3. 三楽会館は、木造洋風建築で下見板張りが特徴的です。両隣にお寺と町屋、少し東に西洋の建築様式をもつ旧第一合同銀行、現代建築の倉敷公民館といった、新旧の建物が並びます。 <三楽会館>   竣工年:1902年   住所:倉敷市阿知2-25-33   Honmachi-dori was once a highway populated by artisans. Sanraku Kaikan was built as the Kurashiki Post Office and today hosts the office of Kurashiki Concert, a music promotion service dreamed of by Soichiro Ohara and founded by his three children. Highlights Feature 1. Sanraku Kaikan embraces both Japanese and Western architectural styles, with a Western-influenced rhombus design decorating the tiled hip roof and Japanese gargoyle-like tiles (called onigawara) near the eaves. Feature 2. With its beautiful whitewashed and tiled walls and Kurashiki latticework, Honmachi-dori is a street exemplifying a living, breathing city. Out of consideration for a more aesthetic streetscape, recent years have seen increased undergrounding, the replacement of overhead cables with those underground. Feature 3. Sanraku Kaikan is a Western-style wooden building with distinctive wood siding. Standing abreast of it are buildings both old and new—a temple and a merchant house, and a bit to the east, the Western-style architecture of the former Daiichi Godo Bank and Kurashiki Public Hall's modern design. Sanraku Kaikan, 1902   Location: 2-25-33 Achi, Kurashiki  

  • 愛美赤煉瓦館/Ivy Red Brick Hall 愛美赤煉瓦館/Ivy Red Brick Hall

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    レンガにかこまれた中庭は、きねん写真のスポットです 木造倉庫とレンガ倉庫のふたご建築 Twins: Wooden and Brick Storehouses こども おとな English 工場でつくられた品物の倉庫そうこでした。レンガのかべも屋根をささえる木材もくざいも昔のままです。2023年からイベント会場として利用りようされています。 みどころ 1. 出入口には石のアーチ(上が丸いまど)のデザインがあります。 2. レンガのかべはぶあつくて、30cm以上いじょうもあります。 3. 入口の上には「二」と「三」のマークがあります。1番をめざしてがんばろうという意味です。 建たてられた年:1906年   <旧児島虎次郎記念館きゅうこじまとらじろうきねんかん> 完成かんせいした年:1972年   <愛美あいびー赤煉瓦館あかれんがかん> 完成かんせいした年:2023年   住所:倉敷市本町7   クラボウの製品倉庫(レンガ造)は1972年から大原美術館の分室でしたが、2023年からはレンガ壁の映えるイベントスペースとして利用されています。 みどころ Point1. 建物出入口には擬石洗い出しのアーチがあり、足元近くには製品を守るためのネズミ返しを差し込んだ跡があります。 Point2. アーチ頂部の要石に、クラボウの二・三のマーク(一番になると、心が緩み退歩するので、たとえ一番になった時も常に二番・三番にいる気持ちで、真の一番に迫るよう努力せよ)があります。 建築年:1906年   <旧児島虎次郎記念館> 竣工年:1972~1981年 設計:藤木工務店・浦辺建築事務所   <愛美赤煉瓦館> 竣工年:2023年   住所:倉敷市本町7   Kurabo Industries' brick-made product warehouse was renovated and made into a branch office for the Ohara Museum of Art in 1972. Because the office is moving to the former Daiichi Godo Bank, the site is currently unused. Highlights Feature 1. At the building entrance are arches built with exposed aggregate, and marks on the pavement indicate where rat guards were placed to protect Kurabo's merchandise. Feature 2. Notice the design on the keystones of each arch. They are Kurabo's symbols for the numbers two and three and their industrious spirit: Being in first place makes us complacent, so even being the best, one must maintain the spirit of being in second or third place to reach what is truly one's best. Original Construction, 1906   Former Kojima Torajiro Memorial Hall, 1972 - 1981/ Architects, Fujiki Komuten, Shizutaro Urabe   Ivy Red Brick Hall, 2023 -   Location: 7 Hon-machi, Kurashiki  

  • 倉敷国際ホテル/Kurashiki Kokusai hotel 倉敷国際ホテル/Kurashiki Kokusai hotel

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    屋根?かべ?ひさし? 屋根?壁?庇? Roof? Walls? Eaves? こども おとな English 「わたしは質素しっそで、健全けんぜんで、実質的じっしつてきで、心が通い、感情かんじょうのこもった宿が望のぞましいと思う」ホテルをつくった大原總一郎そういちろうの言葉です。本格的ほんかくてきな国際こくさいホテルをつくろうと考えました。 みどころ 1. ななめのかべをつみ重ね、大きくても景観けいかんをこわさないようにしています。 2. ロビーにある棟方むなかた志功しこうの版画はんがは、世界最大級さいだいきゅうの大作です。 3. ロビーのぴかぴか光る黒いゆかは昔のまま。古くても味わいがあります。 完成した年: 1963年 設計した人:倉敷建築研究所くらしきけんちくけんきゅうじょ(浦辺鎮太郎うらべしずたろう)   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-44   公式HP:倉敷国際こくさいホテル 「私は質素で健全で実質的で心の通ひ感情のこもった宿が望ましいと思う」ホテル構想時の大原總一郎の言葉です。倉敷初の本格的な国際ホテルを実現すべく、浦辺鎮太郎は設計段階から支配人となる有森照彦と共にホテルのあり方を考えました。 みどころ Point1. 壁を庇のように重ね、建物の大きさが景観を損ねないようにしています。大原美術館からホテルを見ると、古いまちなみと調和していることが分かります。 Point2. ロビー吹抜け部の棟方志功の版画は、大板壁画「大世界の柵・坤(こん)」副題「人類より神々へ」。木版画としては世界最大級の大作です。 Point3. ロビーの黒い床材はアスファルトブロックという材料です。50年を越え、時代と共に磨き込まれ、現在の味わいを作り出しています。 Point4. 2019年には、1963年開業時の姿をできるだけ残し、100年ホテルを目指して、リニューアルされています。 さらに詳しく  大原美術館分館(1961年)に続き、新渓園に隣接して建てられた70室の客室と宴会場、食堂や喫茶室、グリルやバーなどからなる倉敷で最初の本格的な国際ホテルである。東側に大原美術館本館と工芸・東洋館があり、その先に伝統的な街並みが広がる。前面の倉敷中央通りの斜向かいには丹下健三の倉敷市庁舎が建ち、新旧の建物に挟まれ恵まれた敷地で、大原總一郎と長く温めてきた、倉敷にふさわしいホテルの構想が追求された。  外観は、日本工芸館(1960年)から始まる打放しコンクリートの斜めの壁庇と白壁、黒瓦の水平ボーダーでまとめられ、屋上庭園を取り囲む壁と塔屋にも同じモチーフを用い統一感のある瀟洒な表情をつくり出している。  内部中央の吹抜には棟方志功の板画、竣工時の1階ロビーにはアマン・ジャンの壁画が飾られ、民芸調の家具や照明器具と、モザイク・タイルや左官仕上げの職人的な仕事によって、品位と風格をもちながらも居心地の良い、寛いだ雰囲気の空間にまとめられている。 (松隈洋・京都工芸繊維大学教授) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年: 1963年 設計:倉敷建築研究所(浦辺鎮太郎)   <新館増築> 竣工年:1987年 設計:浦辺設計   <耐震改修> 竣工年:2019年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-44   公式HP:倉敷国際ホテル "I think I'd like a modest, sound, practical, expressive, and soulful inn," said Soichiro Ohara when the hotel was in its conception stage. To build Kurashiki's first fully-fledged international hotel, Shizutaro Urabe considered what a hotel ought to be with Teruhiko Arimori, who administrated the process from the design stages. Highlights Feature 1. The walls are layered like eaves, ensuring the size of the building does not spoil the landscape. Looking at the hotel from the Ohara Museum of Art confirms how well it blends in with the surrounding, old streetscape. Feature 2. The large woodblock mural in the lobby atrium is Shiko Munakata's The Great World, Earth: From Mankind to the Gods. It is one of the largest woodblock prints in the world. Feature 3. The lobby flooring is a material called asphalt block. Fifty years since its installation, its current sheen is the result of being burnished with time. Feature 4. In the hopes of maintaining a centenarian hotel, stakeholders updated the building in 2019 while preserving as much of its appearance from when it opened its doors in 1963. More info. This is the first full-scale international hotel in Kurashiki consisting of 70 rooms, banquet halls, dining rooms, a tearoom, a grill room, a bar, etc. built adjacent to the Shinkeien Garden, following the Annex for the Ohara Museum of Art (1961). On the east side, it has the main building and the Craft Art and Asian Art Gallery of the Ohara Museum of Art, and the traditional townscape extends beyond them. Having the Kurashiki City Hall by Kenzo Tange located diagonally across Kurashiki Chuo-Dori street in the front, its site is blessed being located between new and old buildings, the concept of a hotel suitable for Kurashiki, developed for a long time with Soichiro Ohara, was pursued. The exterior is composed of sloping exposed concrete pent roofs that began with the Japan Folk Art Museum (1960) and white walls with horizontal bands of black roof tiles, the same motifs were used for the walls surrounding the roof garden and the penthouse as well, creating an elegant expression with a sense of unity. Inside the central open space, woodcut prints by Shiko Munakata are displayed, and in the lobby on the first floor, a mural by Aman-Jean is displayed. Folkcraft-style furniture and lighting fixtures in and works of artisans such as mosaic tiles and trowel finishes make up the spaces with an atmosphere that is cozy while sophisticated and dignified. (Hiroshi Matsukuma・Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1963/ Architects, Kurashiki Building Research Institute (Shizutaro Urabe)   Annex, 1987/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Aseismic Repair, 2019/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 1-1-44 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30)   URL: Kurashiki Kokusai hotel

  • 阿智神社/Achi Shrine 阿智神社/Achi Shrine

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    鶴形つるがた山から倉敷くらしきのまちを見守る神様 鶴形山から倉敷のまちを見守る神様 The Gods Watching Over Kurashiki from Mt. Tsurugata-yama こども おとな English むかし、倉敷くらしきのまちは海で、阿智あち神社のある鶴形つるがた山は海にうかぶ島でした。古くからある阿智あち神社は、山のてっぺんから倉敷くらしきのまちを見守っています。 みどころ 1. 鶴形つるがた山の高さは43mです。絵馬殿えまでんという建物たてものから倉敷くらしきのまちが見わたせます。 2. 宗像三女神むなかたさんじょしんという海の守り神がまつられています。 3. 神社に入る門に木彫きぼりのウサギがいて、願ねがいごとを書く絵馬にもウサギがいます。 住所:倉敷市本町12-1 お参まいりの時間:一日中お参まいりできます 授与所じゅよしょの受付うけつけ時間:8:30~17:00 祈祷きとうの受付うけつけ時間:9:00~16:00   公式HP:阿智神社 倉敷のまちは海でした。児島半島との間は「吉備の穴海」と呼ばれ、鶴形山は海に浮かぶ島でした。阿智神社は倉敷の町(旧 倉敷村)の総鎮守となる古い神社で、鶴形山の山頂から一帯を守っています。 みどころ Point1. 鶴形山(標高43m)にあり、特に絵馬殿からは町並みが一望できます。 Point2. 交通と交易の安全を司る宗像三女神をお祀りしています。 Point3. 阿智神社境内に入る随神門(ずいしんもん)には木彫りのウサギがいます。社務所横には松が描かれた能舞台もあります。 住所:倉敷市本町12-1 参拝時間:一日中参拝可能 授与所受付時間:8:30~17:00 祈祷受付時間:9:00~16:00   公式HP:阿智神社 The land where the town of Kurashiki lies today was previously in the sea. The water between mainland Japan and the peninsula of Kojima-hanto was called Kibi no Anaumi, and a mountain today, Tsurugata-yama was only an island floating in its waters. Achi-jinja is an old shrine revered as the central place of worship for the town of Kurashiki (formerly a village, Kurashiki-mura) and watches over the area from the peak of Tsurugata-yama. Highlights Feature 1. The shrine is located on Mt. Tsurugata-yama (43 m above sea level). A particularly clear panoramic view can be seen from the emaden structure holding votive tablets. Feature 2. It enshrines the three Munakata goddesses, who safeguard traffic and trade. Feature 3. The main entrance gate features wood carvings of rabbits. The Noh stage with a painting of pine tree is located next to the shrine administration office. Location: 12-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki   Time of Worship: All day long   URL: Achi Shrine

  • 新渓園 (敬倹堂)/Shinkei-en (Garden and Hall) 新渓園 (敬倹堂)/Shinkei-en (Garden and Hall)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    自由に歩ける本格的ほんかくてきな日本庭園 自由に歩ける本格的な日本庭園 A Traditional Japanese Garden to Wander Through こども おとな English 京都の庭師にわし・小川治兵衛じへえがつくりました。大原孫三郎まごさぶろうから倉敷市くらしきしに寄付きふされ、緑ゆたかな本格的ほんかくてきな日本庭園をお散歩さんぽできます。 みどころ 1. 庭の飛とび石に、丸い大・小のひきうすが使われています。 2. 敬倹堂けいけいんどうは56畳じょうもの大広間。屋根をささえる木造もくぞうのはりが力強いです。 3. 型かたにはまった庭づくりでなく、自然しぜんの美しさを求もとめたそうです。 完成かんせいした年:1893年   <改修かいしゅう> 完成かんせいした年:1991年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺設計うらべせっけい   住所:倉敷くらしき市中央1-1-20 開館時間:9:00~16:00(敬倹堂けいけんどう)、9:00~17:00(庭園) 休館日:年末年始(12月29日~1月3日)   公式HP:新渓園しんけいえん 大原孝四郎の還暦祝いの別邸で、庭は近代京都を代表する七代目小川治兵衛が造りました。1922年、息子・大原孫三郎により市に寄贈され、緑豊かな日本庭園をお散歩できます。 みどころ Point1. 庭の飛び石に、大・小の石臼が使われています。「使わなければ無くなる。残して役に立つ方が良い」という、大原孫三郎の気持ちが伝わります。 Point2. 敬倹堂は56畳もの大広間。明治期の洋風小屋組みは骨太でありながら軽快です。縁側の引戸を開け放し、ウエジ(植木屋の治兵衛)の庭を堪能できます。 Point3. ウエジは、それまでの作庭の定石にとらわれず、自然の美しさを求めたそうです。 竣工年:1893年   <改修> 竣工年:1991年 設計:浦辺設計   住所:倉敷市中央1-1-20 開館時間:9:00~16:00(敬倹堂)、9:00~17:00(庭園) 休館日:年末年始(12月29日~1月3日)   公式HP:新渓園 Shinkeien is a villa built to celebrate the 60th birthday of Koshiro Ohara, with a garden made by the seventh-generation gardener Jihei Ogawa, a leading figure in modern Kyoto gardening. They were donated to the city in 1922 by Koshiro's son Magosaburo Ohara, and now visitors may mosey through the lush Japanese garden. Highlights Feature 1. Millstones large and small are used as stepping stones in the garden. They convey Magosaburo Ohara's sentiment that "if they are unused, they will disappear. Better to leave them serving a purpose." Feature 2. Keikendo is a vast hall that fits 56 tatami mats. Despite its big-boned Meiji-era Western roof truss, the building remains light and delicate. The doors can be slid open to enjoy the engawa veranda and Ueji's garden (Ueji indicating the gardener Jihei). Feature 3. Ueji is said to have sought natural beauty rather than be completely preoccupied with landscaping principles. Original Construction, 1893   Renovation, 1991/ Architects, URABESEKKEI   Location: 1-1-20 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 16:00 (Keiken-do), 9:00 - 17:00 (Japanese garden) Closed: 29 December to 3 January   URL: Shinkei-en(Garden and Hall)

  • 旅館くらしき/Ryokan Kurashiki 旅館くらしき/Ryokan Kurashiki

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    倉敷川くらしきがわをやさしく見守るしにせ旅館(しにせ=古くからつづくお店) 倉敷河畔をやさしく見守る老舗旅館 The Inn That Settled on and Watches Over the Riverbanks of Kurashiki-gawa こども おとな English さとうのお店だった町屋を、およそ70年前に静しずかで落ち着いた旅館にしました。 みどころ 1. 2階のまどに、細くて丸い木の格子こうしが付ついています。 2. 大きな看板かんばんでなく、小さな道しるべのような石柱の上に「旅館くらしき」と書きました。 3. 昔の土間はロビーとして使われ、たたみ敷じきのまどから倉敷川くらしきがわが見えます。      完成かんせいした年:大正時代   <旅館くらしき> 完成かんせいした年:1957年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷くらしきレイヨン営繕部えいぜんぶ(浦辺うらべ鎮太郎しずたろう)   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町4-1   <リニューアル> 完成かんせいした年:2017年 設計せっけいした人:藤岡ふじおか龍介りゅうすけ+藤岡建築研究室ふじおかけんちくけんきゅうしつ   公式HP:旅館くらしき     大正町屋の砂糖問屋の主屋、米蔵、砂糖蔵、道具蔵などを1956年に改修した、素朴で落ち着いた雰囲気の旅館です。 みどころ Point1. 江戸期の大原本邸、旅館鶴形と異なる大正町屋の外観をそのまま残しています。2階窓は繊細な丸棒の連子窓です。 Point2. 「旅館くらしき」の字は芹沢銈介のデザイン。当時の女将が、建物自体を立派な看板と考え、浦辺鎮太郎は小さい道しるべの様な石柱の上にガラスを嵌めた行燈風としました。 Point3. 4枚のガラス戸を戸袋に納めると、奥行きのある入口がゆるやかに内外をつなぎます。土間はロビーとして使われ、畳敷きの小上がりの窓から見える倉敷川畔の広がりを、浦辺鎮太郎は京都・大徳寺の孤篷庵から学んだ「無限空間」と表現しました。 さらに詳しく  砂糖問屋河原邸を改装し、旅館とした。4枚のガラス戸を戸袋に納め開放した土間が店、厨子2階(通常は物置か使用人部屋)は丸棒の連子窓、江戸期の小山邸(現・旅館鶴形)や大原邸とは異なる大正の姿であった。外観はそのままに、土間の一間奥に障壁を設け、左は玄関、内は土間で、障壁の2段障子窓は上段の4枚、下段は両端2枚を桟唐戸裏とし、引き分けると土間から倉敷川畔の無限の広がりが見える。大徳寺孤篷庵忘筌に学んだ、浦辺のいう「無限空間」である。厨子2階は客間、野地垂木を隠し和紙貼りとし、太い梁と対比させ、窓は鴨居敷居を端まで伸ばし、開口部だけ紙障子とし、簡素である。あえて倉敷風とせず、似て非なるものを避けている。 (辻野純徳・UR設計相談役) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年:大正時代   <旅館くらしき> 竣工年:1957年 設計:倉敷レイヨン営繕部(浦辺鎮太郎)   住所:倉敷市本町4-1   <リニューアル> 竣工年:2017年 設計:藤岡龍介+藤岡建築研究室   公式HP:旅館くらしき Ryokan Kurashiki is a simple, quiet inn, which comprises a Taisho-era sugar merchant's home, rice granary, sugar storehouse, and tool storehouse renovated in 1956. Highlights Feature 1. The classic Taisho appearance, quite different from those of the Edo-period Ohara House and Ryokan Tsurugata, is preserved here. Lattice windows with delicate round bars line the 2nd floor. Feature 2. Keisuke Serizawa designed Ryokan Kurashiki's Japanese lettering. The proprietress at the time believed the building itself to be a magnificent signboard, and Shizutaro Urabe's sign looks like a lantern, with glass fitted on a stone pillar as unassuming as a road marker. Feature 3. Fitting four glass doors in the door pocket of the long entryway subtly connects the interior and exterior. The earthen-floored entrance serves as a lobby. Shizutaro Urabe described the riverine expanse of Kurashiki-gawa viewed from the window on the elevated tatami floor as the "infinite space" he learned about from Kohoan temple in Daitokuji, Kyoto. More info. This is the residence of the sugar wholesaler Kawahara converted to an inn. The doma, or the earthen floor space, opened up with the four glass doors retracted into the door pocket is the store, the tsushi-nikai, or the loft on the second floor (used usually as a storage space or a room for servants before) has renji-mado, or the lattice windows, with round bars, and the building has a Taisho-period look, different from the Koyama residence (present-day Ryokan Tsurugata) or the Ohara residence from the Edo period. The exterior was kept as is, a screen wall was created 1 ken (1.82m) into the doma to have the entrance on the left and the doma further inside. The two rows of shoji screens have the four Sankarado, or panel doors, in the top row with their backside on the interior side and two of them in the bottom row, and when they slid apart, an infinite expansion of the riverbanks of the Kurashiki River appear. It is what Urabe calls the "infinite space," which he learned from Daitoku-ji Koho-an. The tsushi-nikai second floor has guest rooms with a simple design. The rafters are hidden behind the washi paper coverings, which contrast with the thick beams. The window headers and sills extend to both ends, and only the openings are fitted with paper shoji screens. This project is intentionally not in the Kurashiki style to avoid being something that is similar but not real. (Yoshinori Tsujino・General Counsel, UR Sekkei) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 Original Construction, Taisho period   Ryokan Kurashiki, 1957/ Architects, Kurashiki Rayon Facility Management Department (Shizutaro Urabe)   Renovation, 2017/ Architect, Ryusuke Fujioka   Location: 4-1 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30)   URL: Ryokan Kurashiki

  • 倉敷川/Kurashiki River 倉敷川/Kurashiki River

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    倉敷くらしきをつくった川 倉敷をつくった川 The River That Made Kurashiki こども おとな English 船でお米を運ぶため、集めて保管ほかんする蔵くらがならび、倉敷くらしきという町ができました。最初さいしょは海につながる運河うんがでしたが、高梁川たかはしがわからの水を引きこみ、流れるようになりました。 みどころ 1. オスとメスの2羽わの白鳥がいます。2羽わのお家は「レストラン亀遊亭きゆうてい」のうらにあります。 2. 倉敷くらしき用水から地下トンネルで水を引きこんでいます。水がわき出ているのが見えます。 3. 船の荷物の上げ下ろしに使われた、雁木がんぎ(階だん)があちらこちらにあります。 <夜のあかり> 設置せっちした年:2005年 あかりの設計せっけい:石井幹子もとこ   住所:倉敷市中央1   参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 江戸時代、川舟の往来でにぎわい、代官所近くにお米の保管場所として蔵が作られ、倉敷という町ができました。高梁川を水源とした倉敷用水につなぎ、サイホン式に水をとりこんでいます。亀遊亭の近くに水が湧き出ているのが見えます。 みどころ Point1. オスとメスの2羽の白鳥がいます。2羽のお家は、大原本邸と亀遊亭との間にあった用水路の跡にあります。 Point2. 荷揚げに使われた雁木があちらこちらに残っています。「倉紡製品原綿積み降ろし場跡」から倉敷アイビースクエアへつながる路地には、当時を偲んで石畳みが敷かれています。 Point3. 川の流れがほとんどないので、夜になると、街灯の光に照らされた白壁の町並みが、川面にくっきりと映ります。 <夜間照明> 設置年:2005年 照明設計:石井幹子   住所:倉敷市中央1   参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 The town of Kurashiki was born, fostered by the busy traffic of riverboats and rice granaries (called kura) clustered around the magistrate's office in the Edo period. The Kurashiki-gawa River siphons water from the Kurashiki irrigation channel, itself sourced from a different river, Takahashi-gawa. Water can be seen springing up near Restaurant Kiyutei. Highlights Feature 1. There are two swans, one male and one female. Their home is by what remains of the irrigation channel that existed between the Ohara House and Kiyutei. Feature 2. Used for loading boats, stepped waterfront structures called gangi remain here and there. In memory of days of their use, the area between Kurashiki Ivy Square and the marker indicating where Kurabo Industries loaded and unloaded boats with raw cotton has been paved with stones. Feature 3. At night, the river's stillness allows the white-walled townscape illuminated by street lights to be reflected clearly on the surface of the water. Night Lighting, from 2005/ Lighting design, Motoko Ishii   Location: 1 Chuo, Kurashiki   URL: Cultural property protection Division

  • 語らい座 大原本邸 (旧大原家住宅) /Ohara House Katalyzer (Former Ohara house) 語らい座 大原本邸 (旧大原家住宅) /Ohara House Katalyzer (Former Ohara house)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    倉敷くらしきの中のくらしき 倉敷の中のくらしき Storehouses of Kurashiki こども おとな English 大原孫三郎まごさぶろう・大原總一郎そういちろうが生まれ育った家です。中にたくさんの蔵くらや庭があります。2018年に修理しゅうりされて「語らいざ大原本邸ほんてい」になりました。倉敷くらしきのことを語り合う場でありたいという意味です。 みどころ 1. 入口にある土間どまに「ふりそそぐ言葉」があります。 2. 土間どまを通りすぎると、石だたみの通路。家の中にも倉敷くらしきの町なみが広がります。 3. 蔵くらをつかっててんじしたり、大原さんの本が読めるブックカフェにしました。 建たてられた年:1795年   <語らい座ざ 大原本邸ほんてい> 語らい座ざになった年:2018年   住所:倉敷市中央1丁目2-1 開館時間:9:00~17:00 ※入館は16:30まで 休館日:月曜日・年末年始※祝日、振替休日の月曜日は開館※貸切等での臨時休館あり   公式HP:語らい座 大原本邸 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 大原家代々が暮らしてきた、江戸後期の倉敷を代表する町屋です。主屋をはじめ、計10棟が重要文化財です。2018年に単に保存するだけでなく、今とこれからを考え、語り合う場としての触媒(catalyzer)でありたいという思いで改修、一般公開されました。 みどころ Point1. 玄関を入った土間には、歴代の当主の言葉が天井から降ってくる「ふりそそぐ言葉」があります。「やるべし、大いにやるべし」 Point2. 土間を抜けると米倉の連なる石畳があります。邸宅内部に倉敷の町並みが広がり、まちのつくりを表しているようです。 Point3. 倉の内部を改装し、展示室やブックカフェになっています。八代目・大原總一郎の書斎をイメージしたカフェスペース。大原總一郎の好きだった「鳥類」「民芸」「哲学」関連の書籍を含め、蔵書約2,000冊を展示しています。 建築年:1795年   <語らい座 大原本邸> 竣工年:2018年 設計:UR設計   住所:倉敷市中央1丁目2-1 開館時間:9:00~17:00 ※入館は16:30まで 休館日:月曜日・年末年始※祝日、振替休日の月曜日は開館※貸切等での臨時休館あり   公式HP:語らい座 大原本邸 参考URL:クラシキ文華、文化財保護課 This merchant house was home to the Ohara family and represents Kurashiki of the late Edo period. A total of ten structures, including the main building, are designated important cultural properties. With an eye on the present as well as the future, in 2018 the site was renovated rather than simply preserved, and it was then opened to the public as a conversation catalyzer (stylized Katalizer). Highlights Feature 1. At the earthen-floored entrance, messages from previous heads of the house descend from the ceiling. "Do it. Do it all." Feature 2. The way past the earthen-floored entrance to the rice granaries is paved with stones, as if to mirror the streets and structure of Kurashiki inside the residence. Feature 3. The rice granaries have been renovated as exhibition rooms and a book café. The café space was inspired by the study of the eighth generation Ohara (Soichiro). An estimated 2,000 books are on display here, including those on Soichiro Ohara's favored topics, like birds, folkcraft, and philosophy. Original Construction, 1795   Ohara House Katalyzer, 2018/ Architects, UR Sekkei   Location: 1-2-1 Chuo, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 17:00 (Last Entry: 16:30) Closed: Mondays, New Year's holidays *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the museum will be open on Monday. *In addition to the above, the museum may be specially closed.   URL: Ohara House Katalyzer、Cultural property protection Division

  • 倉敷公民館 (旧倉敷文化センター)/Kurashiki Public Hall 倉敷公民館 (旧倉敷文化センター)/Kurashiki Public Hall

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    音楽図書室のある公民館こうみんかん 音楽図書室のある公民館 A Public Hall with a Music Library こども おとな English 音楽ホールと音楽図書室をもつ公民館こうみんかんです。音楽図書室は、音楽が好きだった大原總一郎そういちろうの夢ゆめでしたが、完成かんせいする前に亡なくなりました。 みどころ 1. 白いかべ、黒いかわら、小さなまどなど、倉敷くらしきらしいデザインです。 2. 大原總一郎そういちろうは、元々あった「3階建だての蔵くら」のイメージにしてほしいと伝つたえました。 3. 正面のかべの上の方に、「きく」の花のマークがあります。 完成かんせいした年: 1969年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町2-21 開館時間:9:00~21:00(火~土曜日)、9:00~17:15(日曜 ・ 祝日) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)・年末年始(12月28日~1月4日)   公式HP:倉敷公民館 音楽ホール、音楽図書室をもつ公民館です。音楽図書室の設立は、クラシック音楽を愛した大原總一郎の描いた構想でしたが、竣工を見ることなく亡くなりました。大原総一郎は、その土地にあった「小野家の三階蔵」のイメージでと伝えたそうです。 みどころ Point1. 白壁と小さな窓、倉敷格子、貼瓦などと共に、伝統的な町並みを意識して、軒高さが抑えられています。 Point2. 天皇家行啓に合わせて造られたトンネルと大原本邸をつなぐ通りに面した、正面上部の菊の形は竣工年の明治100年記念のシンボルマークで、ホール内部の手摺にも見られます。 Point3. 音楽ホールの腰壁には四角いタイル、白壁上部は木梁のような意匠で、蔵をデザインしたような温かみがあります。 さらに詳しく  市立の公民館の一つである。竣工当時は隣地に図書館が建っていたため、これと合わせて「倉敷文化センター」と名づけられていた。1983年に図書館が現在の中央2丁目に移転し、浦辺鎮太郎の設計により新築された際、現在の名称に変更された。  建物にはゆったりとしたなだらかな勾配の屋根が架かり、大きな蔵のような姿を見せている。公民館の建設に関わっていた大原總一郎から、「小野家の三階蔵」のようなデザインにしてほしいといわれ、浦辺がそれに応えてデザインしたという。この大屋根は、1960年代を通じて浦辺によって確立された「壁庇」に代わって、この倉敷公民館以降、浦辺の作品で多用されることになる。  なお、館内には音楽図書室が設置されている。クラシック音楽を愛した大原總一郎の寄付金と、寄贈された2,000枚におよぶレコードをもとに開設されたものである。大原はこの建物と同図書室の竣工を見ることなく、1968年に亡くなった。 (笠原一人・京都工芸繊維大学助教) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 竣工年: 1969年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   住所:倉敷市本町2-21 開館時間:9:00~21:00(火~土曜日)、9:00~17:15(日曜 ・ 祝日) 休館日:月曜日(休日の場合は翌日)・年末年始(12月28日~1月4日)   公式HP:倉敷公民館 Kurashiki Public Hall has an auditorium and a music library. Although classical music lover Soichiro Ohara drew up the concept for a music library, he did not live to see its completion. Soichiro Ohara is said to have requested it be built in the image of the nearby Ono family's three-story storehouse. Highlights Feature 1. Along with its whitewashed walls and small windows, Kurashiki latticework, and wall tiling, the public hall's eaves are kept low to better blend in with the traditional streetscape of its surroundings. Feature 2. Notice the chrysanthemum design at the top of the wall facing the street connecting the Ohara House to the tunnel built for the imperial family's visit. The chrysanthemum is a symbol commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Meiji period. The building was completed on this anniversary. Chrysanthemums can also be seen on the railings inside the public hall. Feature 3. With wainscoting made with square tiles and something like wooden beams decorating the upper areas of the whitewashed walls, the auditorium is designed with the quaint ambience of a storehouse. More info. This is one of the municipal public halls. At the time of completion, there was a library built next door, so it was being called the "Kurashiki Cultural Center." In 1983, the library was moved to the current Chuo-2-Chome location, and when it was newly constructed with Shizutaro Urabe's design, its name was changed to the current one. The building has a generous, gently sloping roof and looks like a big traditional warehouse. Soichiro Ohara who was involved in the construction of public halls requested it to be designed like the "Three-Story Warehouse of the Ono Family," so Urabe designed it as requested in response. This large roof would be widely used in the works of Urabe throughout the 1960s since this Kurashiki Public Hall's establishment in place of pent roof walls which had been established by Urabe. In addition, there is a music library provided in the building. It was created with the funds donated by Soichiro Ohara, who loved classical music, and the 2,000 donated records. Ohara died in 1968 without seeing the completion of the building and its library. (Kazuto Kasahara・Assistant Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 1969/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Location: 2-21 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 9:00 - 21:00 (Tuesdays to Saturdays), 9:00 - 17:15 (Sundays, Holidays) Closed: Mondays, New Year's holidays (28 December to 4 January) *If a national holiday falls on a Sunday or Monday, the center will be open on Monday.   URL: Kurashiki Community Center

  • 阿知町(現阿知2丁目、3丁目)/Achi-machi(now 2- and 3-Chome Achi ) 阿知町(現阿知2丁目、3丁目)/Achi-machi(now 2- and 3-Chome Achi )

    スポット画像未設定

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知3丁目21番31号 大橋家住宅前 由来文:本通り商店街から西に折れて倉敷用水にいたる道の両側に広がる区域。江戸時代初期には井上町と呼ばれたが、宝永7年(1710年)の絵図では阿知町となっている。阿知という地名は、阿知使主(あちのおみ)が率いた渡来人の一族が居住した地にちなむとする説がある。旅館・銀行・各種商店などが並び、商店街の中心のひとつとして発展した。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:3-Chome 21-31 Achi, in front of Ohashi House Name origin:An area that folds west from the Hondori shopping street and extends to both sides of the road leading to Kurashiki Aqueduct. It was called Inoue-cho in the early Edo period, but it is Achi-cho in the picture of Hoei 7 (1710). There is a theory that the place name Achi is named after the place where the family of migrants led by Achi no omi lived. It has developed as one of the centers of the shopping district, with inns, banks, and various shops lined up.

  • 向市場町(現本町)/Mukaiichiba-cho(now Hon-machi) 向市場町(現本町)/Mukaiichiba-cho(now Hon-machi)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:本町17番 白壁通り(市民会館) 由来文:倉敷川の東岸で、白壁通りの北側に広がる区域。青物市の立つ本町に向き合って魚介類の市が立っていたところから、向市場町と呼ばれた。現在の倉敷アイビースクエア内には、江戸時代中期に倉敷代官の陣屋が、明治中期に紡績工場が置かれた。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:17 Hon-machi, Shirakabe-dori (Kurashiki City Auditorium) Name origin:Corresponds to the area on the east riverbank of Kurashiki-gawa River that extends north of Shirakabe-dori Street. Mukai means facing, and the former Mukaiichiba-cho owed its name to the seafood market that once stood here and faced the produce market in Hon-machi. In the area that is today Kurashiki Ivy Square, a base was established for the local magistrate in the mid-Edo period and a spinning factory in the mid-Meiji period. The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 新川町(現中央1・2丁目・阿知2丁目)/Shinkawa-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo and 2-Chome Achi ) 新川町(現中央1・2丁目・阿知2丁目)/Shinkawa-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo and 2-Chome Achi )

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:中央2丁目2番 中央図書館北 由来文:天和3年(1683年)に新田用水と倉敷川を東西に結ぶ水路が新しく造られ、新川と呼ばれたところから、この水路のほぼ南側一帯が新川町と呼ばれた。昭和46年12月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 2 Chuo, north of Kurashiki Chuo Library Name origin:In 1683, a new waterway was built to connect the Shinden-yosui irrigation channel with Kurashiki-gawa River from east to west. The new waterway was named Shinkawa, leading to the area to the south being designated Shinkawa-cho. The name was discontinued in 1971.

  • 平和町(現阿知3丁目)/Heiwa-machi(now 3-Chome Achi) 平和町(現阿知3丁目)/Heiwa-machi(now 3-Chome Achi)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知3丁目12番 川西橋北詰め 由来文:おおむね一番街、国道429号及び新田用水に囲まれた三角形の区域。昭和10年に町名を倉敷としたが、同13年に平和町と改めた。一番街は映画館の名にちなんで「千秋座通り」とも呼ばれて親しまれた。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:3-Chome 12 Achi, north of Kawanishi-hashi Name origin:Corresponds to the triangular area surrounded by the shopping district Ichiban-gai, Route 429, and the Shinden-yosui irrigation channel. The neighborhood was named Kurashiki in 1935 but was renamed Heiwamachi in 1938. Ichiban-gai was also known affectionately as Senshuza-dori Street, after the movie theater there. The name Heiwa-machi was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 元町(現阿知2・3丁目)/Moto-machi(now 2- and 3-Chome Achi) 元町(現阿知2・3丁目)/Moto-machi(now 2- and 3-Chome Achi)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知2丁目19番 倉敷中央通り 由来文:国道429号の南、倉敷中央通りの両側に広がる区域。 明治時代には新町と呼ばれたが、昭和時代に入ってからは元町筋といわれて親しまれ、昭和10年にこの町名となった。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 19 Achi, Kurashiki Chuo-dori Name origin:Corresponds to the area extending across both sides of Kurashiki Chuo-dori Street, south of Route 429. Although called Shin-cho/-machi in the Meiji period, the area began to be affectionately referred to as Motomachi-suji in the Showa period until the designation became official in 1935. It was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 宮坂町(現阿知2丁目・鶴形2丁目)/Miyasaka-cho(now 2-Chome Achi, 2-Chome Tsurugata) 宮坂町(現阿知2丁目・鶴形2丁目)/Miyasaka-cho(now 2-Chome Achi, 2-Chome Tsurugata)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:鶴形2丁目7番 鶴形2丁目公園 由来文:鶴形山の北麓から北西一帯の区域。“山の後”と呼ばれた鶴形山北麓一帯や倉敷尋常高等小学校(現・倉敷東小学校)があった旭町の一部が一つになって、昭和10年に宮坂町となった。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 7 Tsurugata, 2-Chome Tsurugata Park Name origin:Corresponds to the area stretching northwest from the northern foot of Mt. Tsurugata-yama. In 1935, Miyasaka-cho was formed from part of Asahi-machi (the location of Kurashiki Jinjo Higher Elementary School, now Kurashiki Higashi Elementary School) and the northern foot of Tsurugata-yama (called Yamanoato). The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 戎町(現阿知2丁目)/Ebisu-machi(now 2-Chome Achi) 戎町(現阿知2丁目)/Ebisu-machi(now 2-Chome Achi)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知2丁目12番 倉敷えびす通り 由来文:鶴形山の西、ほぼ現在のえびす通り商店街の区域。江戸中期には夷(戎)町の町名が見られ、また、浜村(現・浜町付近)に通じる道があることから浜之通りとも呼ばれた。明治時代以降は、商店街として発展していった。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 12 Achi, Kurashiki Ebisu-dori Name origin:Corresponds to the area west of Mt. Tsurugata-yama, comprising most of what is today the Ebisu-dori shopping district. Named Ebisu-machi during the middle of the Edo period, the area was also referred to as Hamano-dori for having a road to Hama-mura (now in the vicinity of Hama-machi). The area developed into a shopping district since the Meiji period. The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 旭町(現阿知2丁目・鶴形1・2丁目・幸町)/Asahi-machi(now 2-Chome Achi, 1- and 2-Chome Tsurugata, and Saiwai-cho) 旭町(現阿知2丁目・鶴形1・2丁目・幸町)/Asahi-machi(now 2-Chome Achi, 1- and 2-Chome Tsurugata, and Saiwai-cho)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:鶴形1丁目7番 倉敷郵便局西 由来文:倉敷センター街の東から倉敷中央病院の手前までのほぼ現在の鶴形1丁目の区域。かつては県立高等女学校(現・倉敷青陵高校の前身)や税務署が、昭和7年に倉敷市庁舎が現在の倉敷郵便局の敷地に置かれていた。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:1-Chome 7 Tsurugata, west of Kurashiki Post Office Name origin:Corresponds to the area comprising what is today 1-Chome Tsurugata, east from Kurashiki Center Street to the front of Kurashiki Central Hospital. In the past, a prefectural girls’ high school (the predecessor of what is now the Okayama Prefectural Kurashiki Seiryo Senior High School) and the tax office stood here, and in 1932 Kurashiki City Hall stood on what is today the premises of the Kurashiki Post Office. The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 栄町(現阿知1~3丁目)/Sakae-machi(now 1-, 2-, and 3-Chome Achi) 栄町(現阿知1~3丁目)/Sakae-machi(now 1-, 2-, and 3-Chome Achi)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知2丁目2番 倉敷中央通り 由来文:JR倉敷駅前一帯の区域。大正9年にこの町名となった。駅前には運送会社や倉庫、旅館が立ち並んでいたが、次第に飲食店や土産屋が増え、映画館もでき賑わった。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 2 Achi, Kurashiki Chuo-dori Name origin:Corresponds to the area in front of Kurashiki Station. The name was established in 1920. Shipping companies, storehouses, and inns lined these streets, but with time, restaurants and souvenir shops increased in number, and a movie theater was added to the lively mix. The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • 住吉町( 現中央1・2丁目 )/Suiyoshi-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo) 住吉町( 現中央1・2丁目 )/Suiyoshi-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:中央2丁目6番 市立美術館東 由来文:自然史博物館から岡山大学資源生物科学研究所あたりまでの倉敷中央通りの西側の細長い区域。町内には大正期に大原農業研究所や倉敷天文台が、昭和35年に倉敷市庁舎(現・倉敷市立美術館)が置かれた。昭和46年12月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 6 Chuo, east of Kurashiki City Art Museum Name origin:Corresponds to the long, narrow area west of the Kurashiki Chuo-dori Street, from the Kurashiki Museum of Natural History to the Okayama University Institute of Plant Science and Resources. The Ohara Institute for Agricultural Research and Kurashiki Observatory were established in the area in the Taisho period, and Kurashiki City Hall was sited here in 1960 (where the Kurashiki City Art Museum is currently located). The name was discontinued in December 1971.

  • 御船町( 現中央1・2丁目 )/Mifune-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo) 御船町( 現中央1・2丁目 )/Mifune-cho(now 1- and 2-Chome Chuo)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:中央1丁目27番 入船橋親水広場 由来文:倉敷川の新前神橋から入船橋の下流までの西岸に沿った細長い区域。昭和9年には現在地に船だまり(倉敷港)が設けられ、舟運の拠点にもなった。昭和46年12月に廃止された。 Location:1-Chome 27 Chuo, Irifune-bashi Riverside Park Name origin:Corresponds to a long, narrow area along the west riverbank of Kurashiki-gawa River, from the Shinmaegami-bashi Bridge to the waters downstream of Irifune-bashi Bridge. A small dock (Kurashiki-ko) was installed in 1934, making the area a base for water transport. The name was discontinued in December 1971.

  • 前神町( 現中央1丁目 )/Maegami-cho(now 1-Chome Chuo) 前神町( 現中央1丁目 )/Maegami-cho(now 1-Chome Chuo)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:中央1丁目6番 倉敷中央通り 由来文:今橋から新前神橋付近までの倉敷川西岸の区域。天保12年(1841年)には、村会所が置かれるなど、昭和7年まで倉敷の政治の中心地であった。昭和46年12月に廃止された。 Location:1-Chome 6 Chuo, Kurashiki Chuo-dori Name origin:Corresponds to the area on the west riverbank of Kurashiki-gawa River, from Imabashi Bridge to the vicinity of Shinmaegami-bashi Bridge. The village assembly office was established here in 1841 and remained the political heart of Kurashiki until 1932. The name was discontinued in December 1971.

  • 浜田町(現阿知1・2丁目・日ノ出町1丁目)/Hamada-machi(now 1- and 2-Chome Achi and 1-Chome Hinode-cho) 浜田町(現阿知1・2丁目・日ノ出町1丁目)/Hamada-machi(now 1- and 2-Chome Achi and 1-Chome Hinode-cho)

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    日本語 English 設置位置:阿知2丁目16番 倉敷センター街通り 由来文:JR山陽本線寿町踏切から国道429号をへて、倉敷センター街一帯の区域。浜村(現・浜町付近)に通じる道があり、浜の道・浜之通りとも呼ばれていたことから、この町名が付けられた。昭和42年9月に廃止された。 Location:2-Chome 16 Achi, Kurashiki Center Street Name origin:Corresponds to the area around and including Kurashiki Center Street, approached via Route 429 from the JR Sanyo Line crossing in Kotobuki-cho. The area earned its name from the road leading to Hama-mura (now in the vicinity of Hama-machi) and also called Hamano-michi and Hamano-dori. The name was discontinued in September 1967.

  • クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ/Kurashiki Craft Work Village クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ/Kurashiki Craft Work Village

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    ゆるやかにのぼる「通り土間」に、ものづくりの店がならぶ 緩やかにのぼる「通り土間」に、ものづくりの店が並ぶ A Gently Sloping Passage Line with Handmade Crafts こども おとな English 古い町屋に「通り土間」をつくり、おくの空き地に建物たてものをつくりました。ものを作るところとお店をならべ、作っている人の様子も楽しめます。 みどころ 1. 「通り土間」を進むと、昔の井戸いどを真ん中にぐるりとお店がかこみます。 2. 倉敷くらしき格子ごうしは、上の方から光が入り、下の方は外から中を見えにくくしています。 3. 2階の丸いまどからは屋根のつらなりと、近くに鶴形山つるがたやま、阿智神社あちじんじゃが見えます。 建たてられた年:江戸時代えどじだい(約やく200年前)   <クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ> 完成かんせいした年:2017年 設計せっけいした人:倉敷建築工房くらしきけんちくこうぼう 楢村徹設計室ならむらとおるせっけいしつ   住所:倉敷くらしき市本町1-30 開館時間:営業えいぎょう時間は各店舗かくてんぽにて異ことなります。公式HPにてご確認かくにんください。 休館日:休業日きゅうぎょうびは各店舗かくてんぽにて異ことなります。公式HPにてご確認かくにんください。   公式HP:クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ 参考URL:クラシキ文華ぶんか 本町通りの古い町家に新しい「通り土間」をつくり、奥の空き地に建物をつくりました。工房を兼ねた店舗が軒を連ね、工房の息づかいが感じられます。 みどころ Point1. 緩やかなスロープの通り土間を進むと、光の差し込む中庭です。井戸を中心とした中庭を、ぐるりと店舗が囲みます。 Point2. 通り土間には、大きなガラス窓と倉敷格子が並びます。倉敷格子は、上の方が格子が少なく光を取り入れ、下の方が格子が多く視線を遮ります。町屋の内と外を繊細に遮る、倉敷の暮らしの距離感です。 Point3. 2階に上がり、ふり返ると、丸窓から通り土間の屋根の連なりが見えます。近く鶴形山も望め、阿智神社の絵馬殿と高灯籠が見えます。 建築年:江戸時代(約200年前)   <クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ> 竣工年:2017年 設計:倉敷建築工房 楢村徹設計室   住所:倉敷市本町1-30 開館時間:営業時間は各店舗にて異なります。公式HPにてご確認ください。 休館日:休業日は各店舗にて異なります。公式HPにてご確認ください。   公式HP:クラシキクラフトワークビレッジ 参考URL:クラシキ文華 An old residence on Honmachi-dori was modified with an addition of a new earthen-floored passage, while the empty lot behind it was filled with a building. Studio-cum-storefronts fill Kurashiki Craft Work Village, their liveliness and activity palpable. Highlights Feature 1. Following the gently sloped earthen-floored passage leads visitors to a sunlit inner courtyard. In the middle stands a well, encircled by storefronts. Feature 2. Flanking the earthen-floored passage are large glass windows and Kurashiki latticework. The upper half of this latticework features wider gaps between the wooden slats, letting in more light than the lower half, while the lower half provides privacy from passerby. This sense of distance, which discreetly separates what is within from what is without, is part of life in Kurashiki. Feature 3. After ascending to the 2nd floor, visitors may look over their shoulder and through the round window to glimpse the roof covering the earthen-floored passage. Visible too are the shrine Achi-jinja and its emaden structure and enormous lantern on the mountaintop of Tsurugata-yama. Original Construction, Edo Period (About 200 years ago)   Kurashiki Craft Work Village, 2017/ Architect, Toru Naramura   Location: 1-30 Hon-machi, Kurashiki Opening Hours: 10:00 - 18:00 Closed: Please check on the official website of each shop.   URL: Kurashiki Craft Work Village

  • 倉敷中央病院/Kurashiki Central Hospital 倉敷中央病院/Kurashiki Central Hospital

    show stroly map Show Stroly map

    町なみのような明るい病院 町並みのような明るい病院 A Hospital as Uplifting as the Townscape こども おとな English 大原孫三郎まごさぶろうが「東洋一の理想的りそうてきな病院」を目指してつくりました。病院内に植物園のような温室をつくるなど、今でも新しい先進的せんしんてきな病院です。 みどころ 1. 赤いかわらの屋根は倉敷くらしきのまちに合い、新しく明るいイメージです。 2. 緑ゆたかな温室のふん水は水音が心地よく、心身ともにいやされます。 3. 大原孫三郎まごさぶろうは「病院くさくない明るい病院」にしたいと考えました。 <倉紡くらぼう中央病院> 完成かんせいした年:1923年 設計せっけいした人:薬師寺やくしじ主計かずえ、隅田京太郎、武内潔真   <倉敷くらしき中央病院(増築ぞうちく)> 完成かんせいした年:1975~1981年 設計せっけいした人:浦辺建築事務所うらべけんちくじむしょ   住所:倉敷くらしき市美和1-1-1 受付時間:8:10~11:00(月曜日~金曜日) 休診日:土曜日、日曜日、祝日 、年末年始   公式HP:倉敷中央病院 参考URL:文化財保護課 大原孫三郎が「東洋一の理想的な病院」を目指して設立。病院内に温室をつくるなど、大原孫三郎が築いた独自の目線は、現代に通じる先駆的なものでした。 みどころ Point1. 当時、赤い屋根瓦は倉敷のまちに映え、新しく明るいイメージでした。その後の増改築でも、赤い瓦はアクセントとして再利用され、市民に親しまれています。 Point2. 緑豊かな温室の噴水は水音が心地よく、心身ともに癒されます。ステンドグラスや屋上庭園、広場なども、大原孫三郎の「病院くさくない明るい病院」の理念に通じています。 Point3. 1975年以降の増改築を設計した浦辺鎮太郎は、「鶏小屋を作るな、鶏を作れ」(病院建築を作るのではなく、病院そのものを良くしなさい)と考えました。営繕技師だったからこその姿勢のように思えます。 さらに詳しく  1923年、大原孫三郎(1880~1943年)により倉紡中央病院として創立され、その後1971年の新病院の計画時点より浦辺が関わり、三度の増築が重ねられた。  第Ⅰ期では、高層の病棟である第一棟と、その北側の手術棟が建設された(1975年)。続く第Ⅱ期では、第一棟の南東部に臨床検査棟(1980年)が建設され、最後に第Ⅲ期として、南西部に外来診療棟(1981年)が建設された。そのいずれにおいても、各部のインテリアや内外部におけるディテールに、質感と温かみにあふれた素材と意匠が選択されている。また、第Ⅱ期と第Ⅲ期部分の間には、ガラスで覆われた噴水のある温室が設けられ、ヨーロッパのまちや住居がもつパティオのような雰囲気を漂わせている。それらの空間が共鳴しつつ、患者の心身の傷みを和らげていることがうかがえる。  浦辺特有のデザインテイストが、病院というビルディングタイプと出会うことで実現された、比類のない温かな病院建築である。 (角田暁治・京都工芸繊維大学教授) [引用文献] 『建築家 浦辺鎮太郎の仕事』学芸出版社、2019年 <倉紡中央病院> 竣工年:1923年 設計:薬師寺主計、隅田京太郎、武内潔真   <倉敷中央病院(増改築)> 竣工年:1975~1981年 設計:浦辺建築事務所   <倉敷中央病院(新5棟)> 竣工年:2012年 設計:UR設計   住所:倉敷市美和1-1-1 受付時間:8:10~11:00(月曜日~金曜日) 休診日:土曜日、日曜日、祝日 、年末年始   公式HP:倉敷中央病院 参考URL:文化財保護課 Magosaburo Ohara established Kurabo Central Hospital in the hopes of an ideal and unparalleled hospital in the East. A modern pioneer, Magosaburo Ohara's unique vision oversaw the construction of a greenhouse within the hospital building. Highlights Feature 1. At the time, the hospital's red rooftops gleamed brightly in Kurashiki and offered a novel appearance. Subsequent expansion and renovation retained the red roof tiles as an accent much beloved by locals. Feature 2. The fountain in the lush greenhouse provides a comforting ambiance. The stained glass, rooftop garden, and plaza bear witness to Magosaburo Ohara's principle of creating a bright hospital not at all hospital-like. Feature 3. Tasked with designing additions to and renovation of the hospital after 1975, Shizutaro Urabe decided to "build a chicken, not a coop" (that is, improve rather than make a hospital building). Such a thought might only have occurred to a repair engineer such as Urabe. More info. This hospital was founded as the Kurabo Central Hospital by Magosaburo Ohara in 1923. And later Urabe was brought on board starting with the planning of a new hospital in 1971, and three additions were built thereafter. In Phase I, the first building, a high-rise hospital ward, and the operation building on the north side the high-rise building were built (1975). In the following second phase, the clinical examination building (1980) was constructed in the southeastern part of the first building, and finally, as the third phase, the outpatient clinic building (1981) was constructed in the southwestern part. In any of these buildings, materials and design full of character and warmth are selected for the interior of each area and for the details inside and outside the buildings. In addition, between the Phase II and Phase III parts, a glass-covered conservatory with a fountain is provided, and it is spreading the patio-like atmosphere found in European towns and dwellings. It can be seen that as these spaces resonate, the pain in the mind and body of the patients are being alleviated. This is hospital architecture with unmatched warmth realized by the meeting of the design taste unique to Urabe and the building type of hospital. (Akira Kakuda・Professor, Kyoto Institute of Technology) [Citation] 『The Works of Architect Shizutaro Urabe』Gakugei Shuppansha,2019 Kurabo Central Hospital, 1923/ Architects, Kazue Yakushiji, Kyotaro Sumida, Kiyomi Takeuchi   Kurashiki Central Hospital (Renovation), 1975 - 1981/ Architect, Shizutaro Urabe   Kurashiki Central Hospital (5 New Buildings), 2012/ Architects, UR Sekkei   Location: 1-1-1 Miwa, Kurashiki Reception Hours: 8:10 - 11:00 (Monday to Friday) Closed: Saturdays, Sundays, Holidays, New Year's holidays   URL: Kurashiki Central Hospital, Cultural property protection Division